A Close Call

in #life3 years ago

Like many people in today's day and age, I have the good fortune to work from home. In all honesty, I have worked from home for about the last 6 years, and do not ever want to go back into an office again; I'm quite happy not commuting.

That said, I have a work area set aside in my basement. It has walls, light, heat, desk, chair, etc; all the amenities that a working person could want. Within walking distance there is coffee and a bathroom. Cats frequent my desk multiple times daily to ensure I am provided enough non-work attention. It's a good gig.

Alas, another creature came to visit me today.

This.

20210428_154956.jpeg

I know. I know what you're thinking: "What is that? It looks like a spider, but could not possibly be." And I do not believe you would be wrong.

It watched me.

It stalked me.

It was a good one, maybe two feet long, I'm sure. I was concerned for myself. I was concerned for my dog!

A battle ensued, and one I'm glad to say I came out victorious. I removed the creatures corpse outside in a safe location; I'm keeping a close eye on said location, and fire may need to be an option.

I don't know about you, but I'm pretty confident sleep will not visit me tonight.


(c) All images and photographs, unless otherwise specified, are created and owned by me.
(c) Victor Wiebe


About Me

Amateur photographer. Wannabe author. Game designer. Nerd. 
General all around problem-solver and creative type.

My Favourite Tags

IUR5Qh1mwwwiebe.gif

Sort:  

That is a nasty spider to have stalking you! I have nothing against them as long as they don't enter the house or get in close proximity.