Successful leg surgery - I took home my Harris's hawk, but she still needs some healing (2021.11.13)

in #life2 years ago

I talked with the vet, before I took her home. I will send one photo per week to the vet to see her leg. The vet put her in the box, and gave it to me to take her home in it. The vet told me to not touch her operated leg. The vet also told me that they have volunteers to arrange a transport from Szolnok to the vet, if I will need to take her back to the vet.

I successfully arrived at home with her. Approximately 185 km travel from the vet on public transport (bus, train and metro).

About the condition of my bird:
She lowers her left leg, but looks like she still does not (or rarely) sit on it, grip with it. I sent a photo to the vet on Facebook Messenger (the second photo in this blog post), and I wrote that my bird keep her claws in weird positions, and he told me that it is normal. She lowers her leg, but she does not put pressure on it.

I keep my Harris's hawk in the box in the upcoming days/weeks for her own safety.

I hope the best for her recovery.

img_0.6715817394451126.jpg

img_0.8746287820628997.jpg

Sort:  

I'm glad she got her leg fixed. I wish her a speedy recovery so she can go outdoors and fly again.

I'm glad she got her leg fixed.

Me too.

I wish her a speedy recovery

Me too. Hopefully she will use her left leg properly.

so she can go outdoors and fly again.

I live with her. I do not free fly her because of the local law. According to the local law, free flying a Harris's hawk is a forn of hunting, hunting with a predatory bird, and that is falconry, therefore I would need a hunting license and a falconry license to legally do that. The hunting needs a mandatory training, which is hard (maybe not even possible for me, because shooting at a target with weapons is a part of the training and the exam) and very expensive.

Thank you for the support. I give you some !PIZZA and !LUV.
Have a nice day and have a nice weekend.
All the best. Greetings from Hungary.

<><

<><

LUV

Connect

Trade


@kryptik.tigrrr3d, you've been given LUV from @xplosive.

Check the LUV in your H-E wallet. (1/1)

PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@xplosive(3/10) tipped @wrestlingdesires (x1)
wrestlingdesires tipped xplosive (x1)
xplosive tipped kryptik.tigrrr3d (x1)

Join us in Discord!

I really hope she feels better soon :( ... How did you get a pet hawk???

!LOL !PGM !PIZZA !ALIVE

I really hope she feels better soon :( ...

Hopefully. Based on what the vet asked me (one photo per week), it will take a few weeks.

How did you get a pet hawk???

From a breeder. I live in Hungary, and it is legal here to anyone to own and keep (and even breed) a Harris's hawk. According to the local law, it is a hobby bird (the red-tailed hawk is also), while in the USA this bird (and also the red-tailed hawk) is a falconry bird, so you need a falconry license in the USA to own and keep (and breed) them.

Many countries have even less strict laws. For example anyone can own and keep a peregrine falcon in the UK, in Serbia and in Spain, and probably in many other countries, which I currently do not know.

Thank you for the tokens. I give you some !PIZZA.

Have a nice day and have a nice weekend.
All the best. Greetings from Hungary.

Thanks so much for the information, and the Pizza ❤️ It's always hard to watch a pet suffer, but she has the best care, so should be able to recover 🙏

You Are Alive and have been rewarded with 0.1 ALIVE tokens from the We Are Alive Tribe, and it's paid for by the earnings on @alive.chat, swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Good to hear it went well!

Yes. When I first heard the risks of sedating (the same for humans), I was very frightened and worried. I am very glad and very happy that it went well.

Hoping for the best for her.

Everything is going good so far. She is eating normally (I fed her approximately one hour ago), and she is chirping, crying and screaming (making the usual sounds), so hopefully she will start to use her left leg again in the upcoming weeks/months.

Ah so this is your pet! How cool! Do you release her to fly around the house?
What do you feed her? How long do hawks live?

Do you release her to fly around the house?

No, because according to the local law, that would mean hunting, and to hunt with a predatory bird, you need hunting license/ticket and falconry license. And these are difficult and expensive to obtain in my country (Hungary). I would have to through a training, including shooting with weapons at a target. This is very far from ideal, if you live with multiple disabilities, including multiple visual impairments, and live under the local minimum wage.

What do you feed her?

Mostly pigeon and chicken.

How long do hawks live?

The average lifespan of a Harris's hawk is 20-25 years.

Wow....25 years. That is a lot!
You can really overcome your disabilities by being on the blockchain, here it doesn't matter from where you come from as long as you have something to say. A truly free place

Some birds live longer even than humans. For example some African greys and hyacinth macaws are known to live for 100 years, but many of them live for more than 60 years. Both of these birds are parrots, and they are very expensive to buy. Especially the latter.

Oh wow! So interesting! You know quite a lot about birds, you could start a bird community on Hive

I have read this
https://lafeber.com/pet-birds/species/hyacinth-macaw/

So fascinating!