You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Six Years Fly When You're (Mostly) Having Fun and Building a Blockchain

in #lifelast year

I had to go and save the podcast to listen to it repeatedly.

Do you have podcast of your own?
Consider having one on 3speak. I would not missed it for anything.

You’re so well vested in this area and you give very insightful information about the chain. I felt schooled just listening to you on the podcast.

As someone enthusiast about learning about blockchain you are the best resource person I’ve met in this area.

Please kindly share with us a link to your page where you post all your podcasts.

I will check out crimsonclad.com of course.

Sort:  

There's not a whole lot there yet! I grabbed it just to make sure it was not an attack vector after a few times that people have pretended to be me and try phishing community members. I can't think of a more horrible thing to happen. But since I have it, I'm open to suggestions on what would be most useful there!

Thank you for the kind words about podcasting~ talking about and teaching about Hive is one of my biggest passions! I actually have done a live radio show for five+ years about it. It started out as something called Steemwave Saturday (because that's what the blockchain was back then...) and it moved into Cyberbuzz Radio once the focus became about Hive. While there are some old archives on YT, it is a live show and I've never really thought about putting it into podcast format. I think if I do that going forward I would need to have someone to help with it.

I will posting maybe next week reintroducing it and asking for topics, questions and things people would like me to tackle on air, so perhaps what I will do is maybe get some thoughts from everyone on potentially hiring someone who can help with that process or what would be a good format to take some of the weekly content I do here and take it wider. I'm also always open if there are suggestions or connections about guest spot opportunities on behalf of the chain!

I think if I do that going forward I would need to have someone to help with it.

Now I’m biting my fingers that I’m not in the position to be the technical person to help in this process.

If this opportunity had come in a couple of months (when I’m done with undergrad) I would have dropped everything and jumped on it. You speak about hive with so much enthusiasm.

While there are some old archives on YT, it is a live show and I've never really thought about putting it into podcast format.

I think the podcast format will be best compared with video format. I can listen to podcast like a radio show on a headset while commuting or working out or doing something else. Whereas with the video format, listening to it this way one might miss some gists.

Besides, podcasts are the order of the day nowadays.

I’m a final year undergraduate student reading computer science. I’m just about to start working on “blockchain security” as my final year project.

Can you recommend a topic related to hive for me to work on as my final year project?

well, I'm not going anywhere, so maybe this will become something that you get really good at and we figure out how to make into a thing that benefits both of us! I record all the video and audio while I am doing a live stream show, but what I really need is someone who knows the podcasting space to take that audio and help get it distributed. I have run out of hours in a day and I'm starting to realize all the youtubers and podcasters who are very prolific have help behind the scenes. I will definitely take it to heart though, as you're not the first to say that separate audio would be very beneficial. Of course, https://aureal.one/ is the Hive dapp of choice on that front!

When it comes to blockchain security, there are a lot of different ways you can approach that top that will depend on your focus and what kind of project you need to produce. If you're programming forward, you may look at Hive's tiered authority structure and how keys are derived to silo out social actions from financial actions and how that is both beneficial to a user but also adds complexity to keyhandling. Maybe you will look into best practices for making sure that transactions are composed online, but then signed locally before broadcast, and how businesses and integrations have to consider ways of dealing with sensitive info that doesn't have as robust existing infrastructure as the fiat world. Maybe you decide to look at blockchain governance, and how Hive has evolved with its consensus system to be able to fluidly eject a compromised block producer, or even how Hive literally formed as a fork of Steem in response to a 51% attack! You've got a lot of options around here~