Open Mobile Browser Links #12

in #links2 years ago

I'm not getting bored with these, I hope you're not either. It's a nice practice to keep up and I'm being reminded of things that I might now be ready to follow up on.

Oxide Ghosts
A film about the making of the satirical comedy show Brass Eye. It says it's only ever going to be shown at the screenings listed and the last one was April 1st so I missed it. I need to dig a bit though to see whether there's anything good linked to here.

The Tragedy of Macbeth
I did go and see this (was it around Christmas time?) Although it was distributed on Apple TV I made the effort to go and see it at the cinema. It was very good. I mean, it's a very good play anyway, but getting the Coen treatment and with players like Denzel Washington and Frances McDormand, it was excellent. The real star is Kathryn Hunter as the witch(es), whatever that part is anyway.

Dermot Mulroney
If I ever show people publicity pictures of me as a singer in the 1980s (black tie, slicked hair) someone always says "Oh you look just like that guy in "My Best Friend's Wedding". I don't think I do, but someone always does.

Stone Book Quartet
This was recommended to me as a thing about relationships between family and place. "It's short" they said, encouragingly. But I still haven't got a copy, let alone read any of it.

Hemingway
I'd like to see this, at least give it a go, but it wasn't available in the UK last time I looked. I thought at one point that we'd grow out of this kind of regional and international segmentation of rights to see creative works, but it looks like we'll be stuck with it as long as people can make good money out of restricting access. It's like in the seventies when we had to wait years for something that had been out on US TV to be shown over here.