Open Mobile Browser Tabs #15

in #links2 years ago

Happy International Workers Day - it's a Bank Holiday tomorrow in the UK, which means that some people will have been out getting drunk the last couple of nights and will have an extra one tonight.

Hospicing Modernity
This book is a fave among a certain tranche of my network. I've made a start. It's quite hard going and it's meant to be challenging to people like me, who have generations of investment in modernity, won't particularly benefit materially from it's death etc. The audio version is read by a friend of mine and that's probably where I should (re)start.

Wordle
If you've been living under a rock for the last six months, this link will tell you all you need to know about early 2022.

Surrey & Hants Makerspace
I joined the forum, but never quite got going with this. I feel a bit tangential to them tbh - I need to be making more and perhaps that would help me feel like I fit in.

Wardle
Another friend made this derivative of Wordle/Worldle - it's a guessing game based on the map outlines of local authorities in the UK. In response to your guesses it tells you how far away the answer is and in which direction. You need to have a good knowledge of local government (or a suitable map handy)

Sort:  

I can manage Wordle, just about, but some of the variants are harder. There's one (Heardle) that plays you song intros. More like Name That Tune, if you remember that.

Yes! I’ve come across Heardle, gosh it’s hard.

There's songs on there I just don't know, but others I know from the first note. Today's I knew when the bass started.

I’m quite good with vocal music, two bars and that’s it, got it. Depends on the genre really

The maker space sounds interesting. Later this month we’ve got a repair shop taking place in our village, that sounds appealing and we’re going to drop by.

Ah yes, I was talking this morning with someone about perhaps running a one-off repair café. It's a great way of building people's confidence in their ability to fix their own stuff (and get stuff fixed of course!)