Trying to figure out what's next for DS-Tech Media(A "dear diary" kind of post)

in #linux4 years ago

image.png Here's one of my random Inkscape designs, just to make this seem more important than it acutally is :)

Can't decide what my next video project should be.

I've managed to release two videos so far this month, and last month. Which is pretty good for me since I typically manage to release one on average.
But I'm trying to figure out what to work on next.

Major Projects:

Guide To Producing & Recording Music/Audio with Linux: PART THREE

I still need to start Part 3, but that's not a "regular" video that I can finish in a week usually. PART ONE was an overview and introduction to the Linux sound systems. In PART TWO I demonstrated KX-Studio, Ubuntu-Studio, and AVLinux, and in PART 3 I'm going to demonstrate the major digital audio workstations, and recording/producing with instruments, microphones, and MIDI controllers.
I have some of it planned out, but it's going to be hours of recording on top of hours of editing and re-recording. This is basically a video that I will do in bursts.

Steemit, Hive, and The Steem Wars Documentary

This one isn't a top priority, but I do want to do this video. It won't be done like my other videos in my usual format, but instead will be a short documentary. I've already started researching, writing, and gathering visual resources for it.
The real challenge here is visual content. I plan to write out a narration/explanation of the history of Steem/Steemit, and how it works along with Dtube. All that, before explaining who Justin Sun is, and his takeover of Steem, and then the Steem Wars and the launch of Hive. Recording the narration is no problem, but I need to fill that time with entertaining visual representations of everything too. Some of that will be of other people's video which I plan to make sure is used in a transformative way, and my own original visualizations and what not. It's hard for me to say how difficult of a project this really is or even how far along I am on it. I know there is definitely interest in this video so I feel like I have to do it now.

Smaller Projects/Typical Content

I have tons of distro-reviews for Linux that I need to get to including:
  • Nitrux
  • Manjaro
  • Zorin OS
  • Ubuntu 20
And non-Linux operating systems:
  • Plan 9
  • Inferno OS
  • Haiku OS
  • Collapse OS
  • Remix OS
  • Sprite OS
  • Akaros
  • WrmOS
  • Tizen/Sailfish/Lune-OS
I want to start making more Server Linux content too:
  • LAMP/Linux web server tutorial
      • Nextcloud
      • Wordpress/Ghost
      • Ampache Music Server
  • Docker tutorials
  • Virtualization tutorials
And a video dedicated to people who want to start using Linux.

This one is especially important to me, and I want to make sure I make a good case for why someone might want to use Linux instead of Windows/MacOS, and make it clear why people might NOT want to use Linux.

I also want to get back into gaming content.

This was something I tried in the very beginning of DS-Tech Media, but my gaming computer couldn't really play games and stream/record them at the same time.
Now I have this computer(my studio machine) and I have a dedicated capture card, but my gaming computer needs to be fixed. It's liquid cooled and began over-heating, and I've been putting off working on it because I'm terrified that it's not repairable.

Pretty much a rant to myself, but I figured I'd post this anyways.
If you actually read this and have any suggestions or comments I'd be happy to hear them.