Lockdown Skies: Why So Many Flights Over America?

in #lockdown4 years ago

There is an amazing resource that anybody with a computer and an internet connection can access. Flightradar24 tracks flights around the globe and gives you their position, altitude and airspeed. I used this to look at different countries and what their flight paths look like during lockdown.



WHAT DO YOU THINK ABOUT THE VOLUME OF FLIGHTS OVER AMERICA OR ANY OTHER COUNTRY? CAN WE EXPECT LOCKDOWN TO WORK IF AIRPORTS ARE NOT TESTING PASSENGERS? AS EVER, LET ME KNOW BELOW?

*note: I am not interested in discussing varying conspiracy theories about the virus, so please stay on topic!
Sort:  

I've wondered this myself! I'm curious how many of those planes are nearly empty though? If you ask Siri (iPhone) what flights are overhead it will comply. This never ceases to amaze my inner-nerd. Another British friend is telling me she's noticing much less commercial flight activity over Birmingham but more military flights. Do you know anything about that?

Definitely noticed less planes, but no military... Maybe there's a major military airbase near her?

Ah yes, I heard about that and forgot! Airlines, especially the small ones have to run the flights or risk losing their airport slots.

Very cool site there CG. I did not realize we (the US) had so many incoming flights still!

Yeah it's pretty nuts. Although I suppose a lot could be empty.