Flower Cookies

in #lotus3 years ago

Using flowers and herbs in the kitchen can improve the taste and benefits in our food. We always have to make sure that the plants we are using are for sure edible.
I picked the flowers and herbs around the garden; calendula, nasturtium, wild marjoram, mint, roses, sweet wormwood, rosemary, St John's wort, yarrows, daisies, red clover, chicory, thyme, Jupiter's sage, berries, hemp…

IMG_20210925_161954.jpg

Ingredients:

  • 239 g of margarine (at room temperature)
  • 50 g of powdered sugar
  • 260 g all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
  • half a teaspoon of salt
  • lots to of edible flowers and herbs

Preparation:

  1. Beat the margarine with an electric mixer. Add sugar and vanilla extract and whip it until creamy.
    IMG_20210925_132158.jpg
  2. Sift flour and salt through a sieve into a separate bowl.
  3. Start adding, spoon by spoon, salted flour to the creamy margarine and combine it together with a spatula, or electric mixer, until you get a crumbly mixture. At this point you should form a ball out of it with your hands.
    IMG_20210925_134425.jpg
  4. Place a ball of dough on the baking paper and mold it into a brick. Place it in the fridge for 1 hour.
    IMG_20210925_135003_1.jpg
  5. When the dough is cooled, cut it with a sharp knife 1,5-2 cm thick.
    IMG_20210925_142821.jpg
  6. Decorate cookies with flowers and herbs, slightly pressing them into the dough.
    IMG_20210925_152652_1.jpg
  7. Place them in the preheated oven to 180 ⁰C for about 15-20 minutes.
    IMG_20210925_162135.jpg
Sort:  

Uh ... this ones look very good Cool :)) .... I want try them when I have morning tea ;))

You are right, hese cookies go perfectly with herbal tea. ☺️☺️☺️

Cool :) but if I have fruit tea ? is it ok ?

Sure 😃
I actually prefer coffee, but here it's a social thing to drink strong Turkish coffee few times per day, with cookies or cake of course. Not so much of a tradition with tea.
Is it your tradition more tea or coffee oriented?

I take coffee also lot ... so all is good tea and coffee :))

I am so impressed with these absolute beauties. They are way too beautiful to eat. They should be framed and hung on the wall. They should be in a magazine. Beautiful art!!!!

Your comment made me laugh, since I'm a person with uncontrolled munchies, I would probably soon found an empty frame, with no cookies and no crumbs and without supeglue as well 😂
Thank you my friend 💚

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening

These are some of the most unique, beautiful, and fabulous cookies I've ever seen in my life! WOW! Kudos for the execution of this idea and for sharing it with us! Bravo! 😃

Thank you @thekittygirl!
These cookies for sure stays in my recipebook ☺️

Wholly God of Love! This looks WOW! I mean I would never want to eat these cookies and will just store them forever and take a glimpse every now and then.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I couldn't resist! 😀😀😀

Those are so pretty! What a cool idea!

Thanks @goldenoakfarm!
It's the easiest but beautiful decoration. 😊

I can't believe it, it's the first time I look at a recipe like this. I have to make it, thanks for sharing😍

Ohh let me know how it goes. ☺️
I don't know why we don't use more flowers in our food! It makes cookies pretty without messing up the kitchen with buttercream. ☺️

It is an excellent idea, indeed!

This is pure genius, truly! I see you added some of that special herb on some 😁 brilliant!

I couldn't do it without the hemp. 😃
They surprisingly looked really nice after baking in the oven, now I know how to decorate my hash cookies next time! 😉

Now this is some attractive delicacy. Adding flowers to your food does a great deal in improving the flavor and nutrient of your food.
.I really wish I could have one of this right now

I would love to share! 🙂
It really does! And each cookie tastes different...

Those are just darling! I've seen flowers used on Ciabatta or other bread, but this is the first time I've seen them on cookies. Fantastic idea! @fionasfavourites I think you would love how simple yet attractive these are.

@plantstoplanks you are right! @blackberryskunk those are absolutely gorgeous. You have given me an idea. Let's see if it works...🙂

Ooh, looking forward to seeing what you come up with from this bit of inspiration!

Ohh Im too looking forward to see your creation @fionasfavourites! 🙂
Some time ago I saw Martha Stewart’s Embellished Wreath Cookies.But I don't really like the glaze on the cookies, as it makes them really sweet, so I decided to try pressing the flowers into cookies. A few flowers got overdone in the oven and I have to keep in mind the next time to use the plants with firm flowers and leaves to keep them in shape.

I was thinking of going entirely savoury. I do a cheesy biscuit and it occurred to me that certain herb leaves and flowers would work well. I know your recipe was entirely plant-based, but it did spark a thought. I'm still thinking... 🤣

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you for support @qurator Team!

You're most welcome! :)


~~~ embed:1451421379199311874 twitter metadata:eXVtbXl2ZWdhbmFzaWFufHxodHRwczovL3R3aXR0ZXIuY29tL3l1bW15dmVnYW5hc2lhbi9zdGF0dXMvMTQ1MTQyMTM3OTE5OTMxMTg3NHw= ~~~
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

I never knew so many flowers could be decorative and eatable.
These deserve a place in the #LIL library they could be used for so many @lmac blogs for entries, just a thought. Maybe i will try to make them myself one day

That's been really helpful info! Thank you I will sure check out #LIL! 🙏

Hola necesito ayuda, como podemos hablar?