Sky of our youth



There is no romantic story behind this one.
It came as a reminiscence on my nicest youth days that were covered with bombs for three months in Spring of 1999.
Long story, politics and all the horror we experienced once is something that crawls into our mind each Spring.





I was 25 years old, going into my art school and having well, great times. What else you can have when you are student and having 25?
I won't tell you about those three horrible months.
I have my art to tell you about it.



As the skies were covered with bombs and earth with flames our souls were covered also with fear and after a while we become numb. At least I became.



This combination of drawing and watercolor is my entrance for @tobetada contest Love The Clouds.

Unfortunately there aren't any photos of process since I made this one several months ago and haven't made them at the time.

Also I am having some trouble UPLOADING photos here and I am copying photos from my FB account.
If somebody has any idea what's the problem?

And yes, I do love the clouds just these on my painting aren't represent of happiness :)

Thank you all and stay safe!

Facebook

Instagram

Saatchi art

Sort:  

This is breathtaking.

I guess I never really thought of how people who experienced bombing would be terrified of airplanes. This makes me sad. Are you still afraid of them today?

Well, can you imagine that my father was in AirForce in previous Yugoslavia that was destroyed in civil war..and I grow up on air field. I loved airplanes, even my idea was to become pilot :)
And then happened bombs..
I love airplanes still, but even now days when we hear army airplanes flying over heads, we all say something like..why are they flying now?
Yes, still it's not so nice feeling.

Oh my! I would love to hear stories of growing up on the airfield. Have you written about it before?

Low flying military aircraft are not so nice. Lately the coast guard has been buzzing our house with their helicopters almost every day. I wonder what they're looking for.

I've taken flying lessons before and even got to the point where I could fly solo. It's an expensive hobby and we ultimately had other commitments, but I think I might get back to it someday. Flying by yourself for the first time is one of the most amazing experiences you can have.

Well, I wasn't exactly living there :) But, I was lucky father's daughter and sort of I think you have expression for it -Tom boy :)So, my father who was airplane mechanic Major took me often to airfield. And my mother's sister was stewardess, and my aunt's daughter was airplane engineer and constructor.
So, ask me what is the best scent for me ever made? It's smell of kerosene.
And moment standing at runway and listening to engines becoming alive.
Unfortunately in my country in the time I wanted to join military academy and becoming pilot there were no places for women.
Than I wanted to become stewardess, but the moment I finished my high school, that same year civil war started and our Air company was closed.
So, my dream of flying ended.
Now I have great memories, and that is not such a small thing.

Wonderful! Such a beautiful face :-D


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and reblogged by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

We often forget how lucky we are to live in an area of the world that does not, or has not really, experienced much fighting /war. However, there is much guilt in Knowing that it is often OUR country that is out there making the War and Dropping the bombs. I only hope the countries that suffer from USA war (and there are quite a number) know that it is the US government and NOT the people who are behind the bombing. Many Americans are often unaware that we are in over 30 plus military conflicts at any given point :/

This piece speaks volumes and your work, as always, has a breadth of story that always entices me.

Look my dear, I could never blame people for all the bullsh..government make. Any government, since it's never about peace or people. It's always about money and some inner economic wars.
Like it was scenario with my country.
No one could do anything about it.
And also that same politicians are to be blame that people don't know since we live in crazy time when they just give you illusion that you are informed. And the truth is just opposite :)

Sending you hugs and stay safe my dear :)

And i was just a new born in 1999.
Beautiful flow of colours. The eyes looks so beautiful as wanting to tell a story. I would love to see more from you so followed you.

Thank you for kind words and thanks for follow.
1999 was a great year if I exclude that bomb story :)