The South Coast Brings a Smile on my Face

in #makemesmile2 years ago

We recently went down to the Winkle Spruit area again.

It's a small coastal town on the Southern end of Amanzimtoti and a very popular holiday destination.

My wife likes to visit some of the Chinese shops down there because she has picked up some nice bargains at these shops.

Personally, I hate shops. Any shop. Whether it's shopping malls or any shop in any form for that matter...I just don't like it. If at all possible I'll rather wait outside until my wife is done.

But I must admit when I need something like rechargeable batteries or I need some light bulbs, I'd go with her to these Chinese shops as they really have good prices.

But if I really have to go to a shop...I know exactly what I want. I'd go in, walk straight to what I need and get out. Done.

But anyhow, as my wife needed something, we decided to go down there again. And as always, it's a great opportunity to visit the beach down there as well and then go to the tea garden at the nursery in Illovo.

So, getting down to the beach, my focus point for the morning was to get some photos of the little light tower on the rocks, right next to a nice swimming pool area for people (especially kids) who doesn't want to go into the ocean.

This is what the setup looks like from a distance coming towards it.

DSC_0921.jpg

It's a tiny little lighthouse on the rocks right next to the swimming pool area.

DSC_0926.jpg

Unfortunately, as you can see in the next photo, the pool area is currently still closed due to Covid regulations.

DSC_0927.jpg

To the right of the light tower, I took this photo of the beach on the other side of the light tower.

DSC_0928.jpg

From there we went down (basically just over the hill) for our normal walk at the Illovo Nursery Garden Centre.

As you might have seen in some of my previous photos, there is a nice little area behind the nursery where you can actually forget how close you are to the city...

There is a little stream running through the area that forms a pond.

On our arrival, there was still clear evidence of some early morning rain.

DSC_0915.jpg

This is our favorite bench when we come here. Just to sit down, relax, and enjoy the peace and quiet...

DSC_0919.jpg

A new addition was this little decorative boat floating on the water.

DSC_0901.jpg

At the one point, where the little stream passes through under the little walkway, they have a little wooden raft on the water which is tied with some rope to the sides...

I got down on it to take this next photo...

DSC_0912.jpg

And that was our little outing for the morning.

I hope you enjoyed my photos.

Thanks for stopping by, I do appreciate it!