Gardening time

in #mancave3 years ago (edited)

The SUN is shining!

A beautiful day in mid-April, a lovely spring sun but no sweltering temperatures. So what are you going to do when you consider that it has rained quite a few times in recent weeks? Indeed, that was my thought ... summer for the garden has started again. The weather has been very growing, despite the fact that the temperatures could have been higher for me, and I would have liked to see more sun and less gray ... the grass in the front garden was really TOO long, and it had to be started again, time for mowing.

A day to work outside

And it is an excellent day for that. Nice outside in the sun, knowing that the dogs can play outside at the back. Me in the front yard, unfortunately we have no grass behind but only a paved yard… It could have been different for me, but well, our landlord thinks that this should also remain paved, so we can't change that. In any case, we have grass in the front yard. And it is no longer the most beautiful grass, but it should be mowed just as well. So I took the time for that today.



20210417_114941.jpg



Enjoying the view

While I am mowing, I enjoy the weather, the view, which is still very wide, and the fact that we can live here so freely. Let's face it, you are not always blessed with such an unobstructed view. It is also quite possible that as soon as you step out the front door, you will be treated to a desolate view of concrete, concrete and even more concrete. With a green spot here and there, which should represent a garden.

In that respect, I really can't complain about the environment where I spend my days. And yes, of course I would also like to see a bit more hustle and bustle around me for a day. But after such a day, I am also very happy when I can leave the hustle and bustle behind me to enjoy the peace that we get here every day for free and for nothing. Life in the countryside really does have its advantages.



20210417_124340.jpg



Tidy up again

After the grass has been mowed ... it must of course also be tidy up again, that is part of the job. And again, there is nothing bad to do here if you can enjoy the outdoors in the sun.



20210417_124200.jpg



Sigh, the weeds start to grow too

After the front yard ready for today, it is time to start worrying about the driveway. And unfortunately I see the weeds growing there too. But that was not part of my plans today to change that. So I left it a while to sweep away the mowed grass which had fallen there as well. And picking weeds will start again soon. As much as I enjoy gardening, I just hate picking weeds. It is the most thankless job in the garden you can imagine. You won't get anything in return, other than knowing that you will take it away today and that you can do it again next week.

Weeds just don't die

We all know the saying; “Weeds don't die”, and it shows time and time again. With everything… it always comes back. Whatever you do. And certainly here. When we came to live here, there was very overdue maintenance here, and that is also noticeable. The weeds that were used to grow knee-high will also appear very quickly… and I will wonder if we will ever get it under control completely. We cannot get to the roots, they are too deep under the stones. And we think that spraying poison is absolutely not an option because we have 3 dogs running around outside every day of course. It's just as much their garden, their playground, and I don't want to deny them any pleasure in that. So then just keep removing the weeds manually.

We'll see who is the most stubborn, me or the weeds!

What do you think?

Sweeping the driveway

After I had swept the driveway I thought it was nice again for today in terms of garden work at the front. Time to make my way to the backyard and play with the dogs.



20210417_125236.jpg



Playing with the dogs

Not that they can't enjoy themselves, because they do just fine. Myla was playing with a ball behind a conifer. Skipper was guarding the wood and just enjoying being outside. Look around and take in what's going on. Only Lana, who was very loyal to the gate, a ball by her feet and she looked hypnotic…. To the ball. No not to me. LOL!

When Lana has a ball she is so focused on it that nothing else is interesting. Only that ball still counts in her eyes. The only point is that she will not play with a ball herself, she is the only one who has really decided… “I can't play with a ball alone. Lady boss must participate!

And of course I let myself be persuaded to play with her every day. She leaves me little choice.

Some work in the backyard

Then we removed the necessary weeds around our terrace trees. Yes there, lol. That is not growing back that quickly. And then the afternoon is quite over. It's time to start cooking dinner. AND write this blog.

Trying to get back to posting every day

Because yesterday I decided it's just a shame to let my habit of posting every day get lost. Not only was it always fun to do, fun to read the comments, to engage on hive… but I also lost a lot of rewards that way. And yes yes, I know… I shouldn't think like that. But I do think so! We need it badly enough, so why should I pass it up? It helps us to expand further, and that is ultimately what we all want, right?

A happy Saturday evening to all of you.

Thanks for reading through this post. And see y'all soon again!



20210417_124429.jpg



Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 53 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
7


Hey @hetty-rowan, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.