10 Reasons to Buy an Old DSLR in 2020 Canon EOS 70D Review

in #marketfriday4 years ago

It was a tough job cutting down the 100's of valid reasons to get a DSLR but I got it down to 10 reasons to buy an old dslr by focusing on what I think are the most important factors.
I just had my Canon EOS 70d motherboard replaced and it is working as good as new.

Quick links

1 01:51 Focus on your photography
2 02:17 Transitioning from Smartphone photos to DSLR photography
3 03:13 Autofocus and automatic mode for ease of use
4 04:05 Image quality and working with RAW format images
5 05:40 Durability of the Canon EOS 70D it's built like a tank
6 06:50 Camera operation ergonomics settings and ease of use of a DSLR
7 08:30 PRICE! DSLRs are now more affordable for a number of reasons
8 09:09 Low light performance and falling lens prices
9 09:40 WiFi connectivity for file transfer to phone or laptop
10 10:58 DSLRs vs Mirrorless yes that old chestnut

Canon EOS 70D Specs link

Shared from my YouTube channel subscribe here http://www.youtube.com/user/molometer?sub_confirmation=1

Sort:  

Oh, yes... almost idiot proof! :)

The fun is beginning to fade off the new camera's. They do so much, there is no need for you to go on a shoot. :))

Check the audio on this Michael, I got an echo for the entire thing.

It totally amazed me to know how much effort people put into making their post. The challenge started and pointed out our differences in the beginning, but, then, it really started showing how many things our cultures share. When the day is done, it shows off how human we all are and how we basically all care about our families and others. I love the experience of it all. I appreciate the love and support given to #MarketFriday! Thank you! Truly! Your participation adds a piece of your world, and I have to say, people are interested in is seeing it. This entire challenge has opened up the world to me and so many others. Thank you again for being a part of all this! I hope you have a wonderful weekend!

Fridays are all about the #MarketFriday Challenge! Looking to take part in it? Here is how:

How to Participate:

Go to the market! Any market will do! Food, clothing, plant, or animal, if you wish. You can go to the zoo, an art auction, and restaurants. Anywhere or anything that you pay money for any kind of service.
Take pictures! Be creative! It’s fun!
Tell us a little bit about the market, what brought you here?
Post the picture.(s)
Don’t forget to use the MarketFriday Community #196308 to post from or hashtag it! #MarketFriday by @dswigle If you hashtag it, drop the link to your post here so I can easily find them.

As always, please remember! #MarketFriday loves you!

Upped and reposted

!tip .20

Check the audio on this Michael, I got an echo for the entire thing.

Yeah sorry about that. I was using the camera mic and the room was echoing. Plus I hit a button on the camera to add a film grain which gave it an orange tinge?

So glad to have my Canon 70d back it doesn't do naughty things like the camera I shot this on. The Fujifilm is far to clever for it's own good? lol

LOL You just whip them back into shape!

The rate of improvement must be slowing down. Modern cameras have plenty of pixels. I wonder if the focus will be on making the cameras 'smarter', but some people will prefer to have control.

I wonder if the focus will be on making the cameras 'smarter'

This is the idea behind the both modern DSLRs and Mirrorless cameras today. They are basically idiot proof when set to fully automatic mode. It's taking the skill of the photographer and building it into the cameras so that anyone can take great photos of their cat but that is where it ends.

A good photographer knows about light, composition artistic interpretation and a bunch of other things. That hasn't been built into these cameras...yet! :-)

I guess a good photographer knows how to do things 'wrong' to get the effect they want. It may go that you will be able to select the photographer whose style you want to emulate and it will tweak settings for that. I don't keep up on the latest technology, so it may have happened already. I do see various articles on use of AI in image processing and it is amazing what can be done now.

Yeah we will all be able soon to release our inner David Baley? 😂👍
Did I tell you that I got a copyright claim on your Star Wars Cantina tune?
They must have liked it as they left it up? 👏👏👏👍

Engage the talent filter! I need that for my music recording apps.

I have had a few copyright claims on stuff I have posted to YouTube, but only one song was taken down (a Supertramp cover). I think it depends on what their lawyers do. I don't expect to earn on YouTube, so it's no big deal.

Yeah same here. They left two music clips up and monetized them. Your tune being one of them.

I've just had my noodling of Hotel California snipped by god knows who luckily it was at the end of the video so no harm done to my content but it looks weird seeing me play for 3-4 minutes with no audio?
I can't edit it either?
As for making money on YouTube. I need another 140 subscribers and I'm eligible again.
I've got the watch time I just need those additional subs?

Youtube is just for fun for me. I make far more from Hive than I could there.

It looks like the used 70D is a fair amount more expensive than the used Rebel T7 right now. I don't know much about these cameras, but a photographer friend recommended the Rebel T7 to me as a stepup from the snapshot camera that I've been using, as an entry level DSLR.
I'm assuming that the 70D has more features than the Rebel T7....

The Rebel T7 is big step up from a snapshot camera. The Canon 70D is in the middle of the Canon range.

Its been described as a prosumer camera. Top of the line for an enthusiast and entry level for professional photographer.

The feature list is in the post. Far to long to relate in comments.
Take a look 👍😋

🎁 Hi @molometer! You have received 0.2 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.