#MarketFriday @dswigle: Bus Stop 7

in #marketfriday4 years ago

#MarketFriday @dswigle: Bus Stop 7

20200905-085942.jpg

Due to the Covid-19 virus, open air markets were not allowed for some time. This has now changed and we may attend markets again.

This market, named Bus Stop 7, is a new market and has opened for the first time, this past Saturday.

It is quite a nice market situated in between some farms, away from the hustle and bustle of the City.

20200905-090043.jpg

They have made use of some refurbished shipping containers to make the stalls and has also provided some roofs between the stalls.

My sister in law also has a stall, in the photo below are us supporting her. (From the left at the back: Me, my wife, my sister, my sister in law, my mother, my dad and in front my brother.)

20200905-090221.jpg

There is some concrete seating provide, which should last a lifetime or two!!

20200905-095857.jpg

The flooring is made of some wood chips, I wonder how it will go if we have a good thunder storm or two!!

20200905-100402.jpg

We were at the market quite early in the morning, but business was already good.

20200905-092414.jpg

My wife cannot walk past a second hand book shop, and the one below was also visited.

20200905-093700.jpg

There is some space to eat food purchased at the market, here we are having some coffee.

20200905-092252.jpg

There is also a part of the market that is under roof, in a type of a shed.

20200905-090904.jpg

20200905-090658.jpg

This is the bus that gave the market its name, apparently it was driven all the way from London to South Africa. I am going to the market again tomorrow, and will have a look, as I was told the story is written inside the bus.

20200905-090609.jpg

I enjoyed this market a lot, there was a lot of interesting things and people to be seen.

I also bought a SCOBY at the market, which I am going to fetch tomorrow, as I would like to try my hand at brewing some Kombucha, watch this space!!

I hope you liked the post as much as I liked writing it.

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

Nice looking market, do you remember trams, trolley-buses then buses that ran in Johannesburg? Memories of catching train into Park Station, then bus up into Hillbrow, the last time we did that was in 1988 when visiting my Aunt in Hillbrow to give the boys a taste of a double-decker bus.

So yes you will have to share the story about the life of this bus reaching it's destination, always interesting. Send your family greetings and wish your sister-in-law well with her store at the new market.

Yes, I do remember the trams! So far it is going well with the stall. I will send greeting, greeting to your family as well.

What a cool market, thank goodness the Covid figures are down and everything is slowly opening up again, I really miss going to interesting places like this! Thanks for sharing, wish your sister in law all the best with her stall:)
PS I'm just like your wife, the book stores always draw me inside!

This is really a very nice market!

Nice Bus Stop 7 photography.

Thank you so much.

Very impressive on bus and besides people's are very cautious about covid-19.

Yes, the people are careful, I loved the bus as well.

I will be waiting to hear about the story on the double-decker bus. Can you imagine the adventure driving that bus all the way down??? I would raise my hand for that ride! If you think about it, take a picture of the story!

What a cute name, Bus Stop 7, that was such a cute name! I appreciate them repurposing the old containers for the booths. It seems to be a really popular place and nice to see your sister-in-law has claimed her space and you go there to support her. Snacks included, what more can you ask for?

Except for a used bookstore. My favorite! I love my kindle, but, it will never replace the feel of a bound book! This was a great post and I look forward to watching you make Kambucha! Thanks for taking us with you! It absolutely delights me to have you be a part of this, I do know how much effort people put into making theses posts. The challenge started and pointed out our differences in the beginning, but, then, it really started showing how many things our cultures share. When the day is done, it shows off how human we all are and how we basically all care about our families and others. I love the experience of it all. I appreciate the love and support given to #MarketFriday! Thank you! Truly! Your participation adds a piece of your world, and I have to say, people are interested in is seeing it. This entire challenge has opened up the world to me and so many others. Thank you again for being a part of all this! I hope you have a wonderful weekend!

Fridays are all about the #MarketFriday Challenge! Looking to take part in it? Here is how:

How to Participate:

Go to the market! Any market will do! Food, clothing, plant, or animal, if you wish. You can go to the zoo, an art auction, and restaurants. Anywhere or anything that you pay money for any kind of service.
Take pictures! Be creative! It’s fun!
Tell us a little bit about the market, what brought you here?
Post the picture.(s)
Don’t forget to use the MarketFriday Community #196308 to post from or hashtag it! #MarketFriday by @dswigle If you hashtag it, drop the link to your post here so I can easily find them.

As always, please remember! #MarketFriday loves you!

Upped and reposted

!tip .20

🎁 Hi @rynow! You have received 0.2 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.