Market Friday – Shopping in Venezuela

in #marketfriday4 years ago
Returning a bit to the subject of the situation of purchases in Venezuela, today I want to show you a little more about reality. I would like to say that things have improved, in a way you could say yes, but the reality is that the economy continues to worsen due to government mismanagement.

IMG_20200317_121004.jpg

Supermarkets are better supplied than they were a few years ago and there are no longer lines to buy food, but everything is dollarized.

IMG_20200317_121012.jpg

Our currency, the Bolívar, has no value and purchases are made in dollars and we also seek to have money with this currency so that our money is not devalued. Unfortunately, the minimum wage is only $ 2 or $ 3. Many people look for many alternatives to their jobs to support themselves, hence the entrepreneurial spirit and ingenuity of many people.

IMG_20200317_124833.jpg

Crises help us learn, many countries have gone through various situations. Although the subject is extensive, I would just like to say that I hope that soon we can return to being a free nation.

This is my entry today to #MarketFriday created by @dswigle


Photographs taken from a Huawei phone

Sort:  

You have mentioned in your post some very interesting things for me. As first, I appreciate this kind of first-hand information in contrary to the ones the media would serve us otherwise.

But, I have a question for you. As you said that the average wage is in between $2 and $3 USD, I would like to know what kind of food, and how much of it a person can buy for that amount of money?

I appreciate your comment, many people still do not believe the reality of the situation. I lived in Peru and the prices are very similar in dollars, so I suppose the food prices in your country are the same as here, which would answer your question. Unfortunately it is not enough at all.

Thank you for your reply although it actually didn't answer my question.
As you are mentioning Peru, I suppose you must presuppose that I live and come from that country.
I don't know how and upon what you came up with that conclusion, but it's actually, entirely wrong one.

I live in Europe, and in my country for $2-$3 bucks one can buy a cup of coffee and eventually a donut aside.
So, as you may see, while one would, although struggling, but still survive the month with that wage amount in Venezuela, in my country a person would hardly survive one single day with it.

Therefore, I really can't compare the food prices with the prices in my country as more or less equal, as they are far away from that.

Sorry if I confused you, I am using the translator. I wanted to say that I lived in Peru and I left Venezuela due to the economic situation. It seems hard to believe but it is reality. That's the salary, and basically you can't buy anything but a donut and a coffee. Prices must be the same. Some companies give some food stamps or baskets, some live on remittances from relatives abroad (more than 2 million people have migrated) and others expect government subsidies, which are not enough. It is a difficult situation to understand, but you can search for information on the Internet. Hope you can understand my answer.

I understand that the situation in Venezuela is critical. We have very many people from Venezuela here on Hive. Were these pictures from Peru or Venezuela? I know you are in Peru, so that is why I was asking.

I knew some were using the US Dollar, but, didn't know they turned to it altogether. Is everything priced in Dollars or in the Bolivar? I guess I am a little more behind than I thought. I hope that they will eventually rise again. They were once a great country and I pray that they will regain their rightful place.

I just looked at your response and didn't realize you returned to Venezuela!

It is people like yourself that make this challenge successful! Thank you for posting into the challenge! In case you forgot anything or anyone is reading this and is curious about it, this will clear that up!

Fridays are all about the #MarketFriday Challenge!

How to Participate:

Go to the market! Any market will do! Food, clothing, plant, or animal, if you wish. You can go to the zoo, an art auction, and restaurants. Anywhere or anything that you pay money for any kind of service.
Take pictures! Be creative! It’s fun!
Tell us a little bit about the market, what brought you here?
Post the picture.(s)
Don’t forget to use the MarketFriday Community #196308 to post from or hashtag it! #MarketFriday by @dswigle If you hashtag it, drop the link to your post here so I can easily find them.

As always, please remember! #MarketFriday loves you! Be well and know you are in our thoughts and prayers.

Upped and reposted

!tip .20

🎁 Hi @unataldani! You have received 0.2 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.