You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Unconscious Marketing Kills More Than Just Profits! Tobacco Ads That Show Why Ethical Marketing Is Key!

in #marketing3 years ago

The same dudes who put the pregnant lady on the cover, the baby in DDT shirts, and asbestos on the ceiling are the same dudes saying vaccines are safe and effective.

img_7248.png

Sort:  

There are well known agencies who have a long history of extremely unethical behaviour, yes - even including running PR for genocidal governments and tyrants without blinking an eye.

Very nice. Welcome to Hive. You've been here about 8 months now, what do you think?

Ps—my wife's British. We were in Greece when damn Brexit went through, that sucked! So we went back to UK in January last year, 2020. Well..... that turned into a 7 month lockdown and then they finally kicked me outta the country in August because "spousal residency privileges have ceased during Covid."

One. Thing. After. Another.

That was a lotta weird shit in a short timespan.

Oh, our founder at Crucial Web has been using Hive and Steem before it since 2016 and is a witness for Hive: @ura-soul. In general, Hive is an important part of the internet ecosystem at present, we look forward to watching Hive expand and begin to compete with mainstream networks. :)

I have never heard of anyone being ejected from UK who was married to a UK citizen for such reasons - that's very surprising. So you aren't classed as a UK citizen yourself or have a dual passport?

ura-soul, very nice! 👍🏿 I'll explain..

I never needed the residency prior so we never jumped through the hoops to apply for it. My wife is dual citizen. I am American.

We went back to UK in January last year thinking we could just wait out Covid there, we had no idea England would react as strictly as they have otherwise we would've just flown back to US. Shortly after we landed Virgin, Delta, America, all the airlines suspended flights. We were trapped.

At that time and currently to the best of my understanding, they ceased spousal residency applications because of Covid. I couldn't apply for residency. I only had 6 months allowable on my passport.

So every 15 days I would get a reminder from the embassy in London that my passport would expire August 1st. Planes still were not flying. They would sell tickets and offer refunds but not refund passengers for two years, we weren't willing to take that chance.

But I kept getting that email from the embassy letting me know I had to be out of England by August 1. Meanwhile applying for spousal residency is still paused due to Covid.

My wife could've stayed. I couldn't. We finally caught a flight out of there August 3. Had a 3-row seated 777 all time ourselves, too, one of the first flights to actually leave the ground.

I hope this explanation is easier to understand.

Ah, I see, Ok - thanks for explaining. I am currently in Australia and had to go through quarantine on arrival in January. Maybe Hive users can put funds together to buy a superyacht and bypass all this stuff :)

"Allll Abbooooaard!!"

Edit. Did I understand that correctly? You're British and in Australia now? Your quarantined in January this year or last year? What was that like?

Piping in on the conversation here @crucialweb and @dandays - I was in UK last year two, got locked down within 2 days of arriving in country. My husband's English, his fam is in Somerset. I wonder what would have happened if I'd overstayed my visa - I'm not sure, I did live there along time about 15 years ago (six years). We stayed 3 months and then got out on an Emirates flight in June, got home to Australia to two weeks HELL quarantine in Melbourne a week before they made people pay for it. Now, in many ways, I'd rather be in the UK. Funny, I was in UK for Brexit vote too. I'm beginning to think it's me - lol.