Marriage~ In Sickness and in Health

in #marriage3 years ago (edited)


Hello! Hi! How are you?!



I knew the week that just passed was going to be difficult. I tried to prepare mentally and physically for it.

I made sure I called my doctor for a refill of my pain medication. I made sure all the laundry was done and put away. I went to sleep before midnight from Tuesday on, waking up with the sun.

I received my dream camera in the mail on Tuesday. It only took three years, two days of no sleep, and my son to make it happen. Wednesday, I then sent the camera back to Amazon. I am now waiting to see the returned camera's credit show up on the credit card. Once there, we can order the same camera in the newer version. I will keep you updated on when that happens.




I love being able to use watercolor in my journal.



Wednesday was also the first day of the week my hubby was home. Thursday, he was having surgery. This meant he had to get a covid test Tuesday night and isolate himself until the surgery on Thursday. Lucky for both of us, it was a beautiful day out. Hubby spent the day working on our backyard (garden).

He put fresh mulch down in the flower beds and around the trees. He cleaned up the yard and planted more grass seed as the sun started dipping below the horizon. Just when the rain started, hubby walked into the house and proclaimed our yard was ready. I am not sure what that means, but he was happy.

Wednesday night was spent going over emails making sure we had everything ready for hubby's surgery Thursday morning. Not one bit tired, I went off to bed at 11:45 PM. Lucky for both of us, we did not have to be at the Hospital until 11:00 AM. I slept for about five hours.



image.png



Once awake, I could not go back to sleep. I spent my last three quiet hours playing Hearthstone before hubby woke up. He was nervous as anyone is before surgery. I was hoping he and I would both make it through the day in one piece.

I have Fibromyalgia. I also have had four lower back surgeries. The last surgery I had on my back was to fuse a few of my vertebrae and reinforce them with titanium and a few screws. This means standing in one place for long periods hurts. Sitting in uncomfortable chairs is painful. I had a whole day ahead of me where what was needed of my body would cause an extreme amount of pain.

I was the driver. There was no medication that I could take to help my body through the day until I had my hubby safely home from the Hospital.




Hubby testing out the Hospitals new heating blankets.



Making it through his surgery with flying colors, we were finally able to leave the Hospital at 6:30 PM. I drove him home safely, fed him some bland food, and made him comfortable. I then collapsed in my chair and took my pain meds.

It was then when I realized we hadn't gone food shopping before his surgery. This meant I was going to have to go on Friday. This also meant hubby wanted to go along so he could get out of the house.

My ordering groceries from Walmart to be picked up and brought back home turned into being gone over three hours and shopping at three different stores. I will now say I know why it takes him four hours to go grocery shopping. By the third store, I was in so much pain I had tears falling down my face.



We were doing the best we both could. I just needed to get home, not drive, and take more pain medication so I could rest.

Rest for me is, sitting quietly playing a game where I do not have to think much. This helps take my mind off the pain I am in. It also helps me not have to take as much pain medication as I usually would to help lessen the pain I am in. The scenario above is near impossible with a husband recovering from surgery.

On top of everything else, my house now looked like a tornado had gone through it.

Hubby had tried to clean up some things, which made me tell him to sit down and rest. I would get up and try and clean up a few things too. This lead to hubby yelling at me to sit down and relax.

The night ended with me cleaning for ten minutes, resting for thirty minutes, cleaning for ten minutes until I can now see my kitchen counters. All dishes are washed and put away, and there are meals in the refrigerator that just need to be reheated when someone gets hungry.




A Hidden Jem.



I found myself on edge from the day from Hell.

I knew I would never be able to fall asleep until I relaxed my mind. I grabbed my journal. I did not feel like drawing anything, but two drawings I had done days ago could use some color.

Grabbing my watercolors, I sat down in the clean, quiet house and painted. Hours flew by while I painted. My mind slowly quieted down and relaxed. I love how the pictures turned out. They make me smile.

It will be ruff in the coming weeks while hubby and his arm slowly heal. Until then, I feel the house will be filled with the sounds of both of us telling the other not to do anything, so they don't get hurt.

On that note, I am finally off to sleep.

May your days be filled with laughter while I giggle each time my husband and I yell at each other not to do something, so the other person doesn't get hurt.



Help someone smile today. It can not hurt you.


Snook



All photos are mine unless otherwise stated.



Gif made by @Snook



Sort:  

This may help

image.png

Yep, you know this is not just any puppy, it is my sons (the family) puppy and I can bet a million bucks those puppy eyes and that look are right after it did something it shouldn't have done and she knows it!

Either way, how can this photo not make the moment a little better!

Hang in there.

& you love looking after the hubby, admit it!

I would not have it any other way :D

and yes, That is a face of a dog that is hoping no one notices what he just did! LOLLL

"She" no "He" parts on this little beaut!

HAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

Night!!

That sounds lot a lot of stress actually. I hope your hubby is doing good now!

Hopefully the scrubs were nice to him (I am a scrub, I find this important) and otherwise I will kick their asses!
Sending love!

I swear I wrote a comment yesterday.... weird...

Yes, they were all really wonderful!! so no worries on that front :D

Yes, it has been a tad stressful but you have to find your giggles where you can or you cry.

Happy Sunday to you!!!

I swear I wrote a comment yesterday.... weird...

Yes, they were all really wonderful!! so no worries on that front :D

Yes, it has been a tad stressful but you have to find your giggles where you can or you cry.

Happy Sunday to you!!!

Two things
1-what meds does your doc have you on for pain ? I have hereditary neuropathy and get Seizures from gabapentin so i have been dealing with the pain without taking anything - I am afraid to take narcotics so I am always interested how others deal with it -

2- Does your town have the Walmart delivery option ? It has made my life a lot easier - I have the 15$ a month subscription and they bring me what ever i need as many times as i need in the month - it might help make your life a bit easier .

I will send you a DM about #1 hugs!

I think we do but he will not pay it... we had to food shop his way yesterday. Honest it wasn't worth fighting about...... the problem is he stops and talks to people when on pain meds and normally.....If I had not been there he would have come home with 27 new best friends :D at least he is a happy drugged up person LOLL

I recently read that coloring places our minds in a state similar to meditation. I'm so glad you have found such an activity. And, when you're done, you have something beautiful and satisfying to look at. Hope you have a wonderful weekend!

I think I must have read the same thing :D It rings a bell.

Thank You for the compliment. I really do love painting.

HUGE HUGS to YOU!

Hopefully things have simmered down today, and maybe you both can take it easy. ;)

fb.png

errrrr........

well, last night I told hubby that I NEEDED a day off today and was taking it.;

I woke up to him telling me that he had all the stuff out that he could get to so I could 'put together' the venison in the crockpot.

an hour later and my back killing me and the kitchen clean once again.........and I am going to try not to do anything the rest of the day.....

and I only made it cuz he wants to take it with him when he goes to see his Dad tomorrow....

I will do anything for my Father in Law.

This post has received a 100.00% upvote from @fambalam! Join thealliance community to get whitelisted for delegation to this community service.

Thank You!

That's life @snook. Also thanks to such moments we start to really appreciate what we have, recently I had a situation that my daughter was choking, fortunately I knew what to do. I would never like to experience it a second time again. Everything will be ok :) I wish you good health!

yes, we do. I am so sorry to hear about your daughter :( THAT had to be very scary!!!!!!!

That sounds like a very rough day. Glad you both survived all of it. And I hope you heed each others' advice to take it easy and not overdo or hurt yourselves!