Masquerading As Fake News In The Supermarket

in #masks4 years ago (edited)

cover.jpg

Today delivered a short snippet of interaction which made me think about things a little. The event itself was an imaginative fantasy set in a supermarket. The plot and dialogue ran along the following lines:

page divider orange stars.png

Shopper 1 (said aggressively from a height of 6 feet and 4 inches): Hey! Why in fuck's name are you not wearing a mask? What makes you so special that you feel entitled to threaten me?

Shopper 2 (standing straight with shoulders back and responding in a calm and non-provocative tone): Why do you say that?

Shopper 1 (staring at Shopper 2 for a few seconds in disbelief): Are you fucking with me or what?

Shopper 2: No. I would really like to know!

Shopper 1 (looking quizzically at Shopper 2 for a few more seconds, then speaking slowly and clearly): I don't want your filthy germs and infections, get it? Everyone else has to wear one and so do you! Think you're special?

Shopper 2 (in a reasonable tone): I hear what you're saying. I used to wear them myself, but then some strange things happened. Here's my position – will you hear me out?

Shopper 1 (intrigued yet still agitated): Not in here I won't! But I'll give you a few minutes outside on the street.

Thus agreed, Shopper 2 pays at the till without being further challenged and then waits outside. Presently Shopper 1 appears, followed by Shoppers 3, 4 and 5 who had been listening with interest to the exchange and wanted to hear what was to follow.

Shopper 2: Thanks for being willing to listen! I have found the whole issue very confusing. We're told to wear masks in order to protect ourselves and others. This sounds reasonable enough and indeed the UK government and media are pretty unanimous that it is so. Where I am confused is being told that I need to wear a mask in some places but not in others – supermarkets (yes) vs pubs/restaurants (no). That's confusing isn't it? At least from a personal 'safety' point of view which is looking for Official Guidance on the matter.

Shopper 1 (trailing off): Hmmm, sure but.......

Shopper 2: So then I begin to wonder... they say masks protect but if so then what's with not needing them in pubs and restaurants? Kinda strange no?

Shopper 3: Yeah, to be honest that has bothered me quite a bit!

Shopper 2: Right! So then I look for government issued information on why masks work and I find a section on the uk.gov website which says that they are to be worn in order to protect others.

Shopper 1: That's exactly what I said!

Shopper 2: Right! I also tried to find some studies about the risk assessments of wearing masks over extended periods. I discovered that in fact no such risk assessment has been carried out by the UK government (4m 40s)!

Shopper 4: But doctors and experts on TV keep saying we have to wear them – they must know!

Shopper 2: Yeah, one would think that doctors ought to know about such things! Anyhow, being the curious person that I am, I looked around the internet to see if there were any such risk assessments carried out on the wearing of face masks particularly in regard to (1) their efficacy in preventing the spread of infection, and (2) any effects the wearing of masks may have on humans.

Shopper 5: Find anything?

Shopper 2: Yeah, a whole lot of studies going back a decade and more.

Shopper 1: And?

Shopper 2: I strongly encourage you to look it up for yourself. What I discovered was incredible – Wearing a mask has no impact on the spread of viral diseases in either direction – to or from, in or out! Wearing a mask also has potential to harm the health of the person wearing it.

Shopper 2 (turning to Shopper 1 and continuing after a moment of stunned silence): So you see, in the confusion surrounding all this I felt compelled to undertake my own risk assessment which I have just laid out before you. I have come to the conclusion that wearing a face covering/mask is not necessary from a health point of view because it does nothing to stop the spread of infection. I also see that it has other effects, such as fostering the kind of division that prompted this discussion of ours.

Shopper 3: So why are masks being pushed so hard? Could it be politically motivated?

Shopper 2: With respect guys, I don't know. There is a lot of confusion and all I can do is find out some things for myself by a process of research and triangulation (looking at an issue from multiple angles). Thanks for being open to this discussion. You'll find links to all we discussed here and facts speak for themselves. I strongly encourage you not to take anyone's word and to check it out for yourselves. Then whatever you choose or decide to do will have the informed energy of empowerment behind it. Good luck!

page divider orange stars.png

reason_for_masks.jpg

source: uk government

daily_charts.jpg

source: uk government, data for 13 Aug 2020

Sort:  

HIVE.D!

Posh

Thanks Bro🙏

PotentialOfSeriousHiving

Love it.

Many thanks आत्माji, and for the reblog!
🙏

 4 years ago  Reveal Comment

Trying to find that place between fight and flight :)

Good luck with that :P

It exists bro!