Steem Meetup and Street Photography in Tampere

in #meetup5 years ago

tam17.jpg

Yesterday we had the first Steem Meetup in Finland. There aren't that many Steemians in Finland, at least as far as I know, and out of those already slim numbers, only seven of us were able to make it yesterday, @tarazkp, @momone, @smallsteps, @celestal, @markkujantunen and @insaneworks. Some of us had already met each other previously, but it was good to meet a few new Steemians face to face and strengthen the connections between people you've gotten to know through Steemit. I feel like every time Steemians meet in real life, it strengthens the community and gives you hope for the future of Steemit.

If you ever want to feel dumb, hang out with Steemians, there are some seriously smart people in here and you can learn a lot by listening and talking to them. The amount of knowledge, ideas and enthusiasm is really inspiring among Steemians. But I'm not gonna lie, it's not all serious, we did laugh and gossip a fair bit too during the day.

After we'd sat for a coffee for a good couple of hours for our initial getting acquainted with each other, we went for a long walk. My Health-app tells me I walked 10 kilometers yesterday, a good portion of that being our photo walk in Tampere. Excluding Momone and Smallsteps, we all had our cameras out and looked like a tourist group, which we kind of were. We have some pictures from the same situations, but everyone having different cameras, viewpoints and artistic impression, the results are very different and I don't think you'll be bored even if you see all our pictures from the same day and places.

We got really lucky with the weather in Tampere and it was a really bright and colourful autumn day, which you of course don't see in these picture because I decided to go for the classic black and white out of not liking to photograph in the middle of the day. I usually take really shitty pictures when in company and walking all the time, but I managed to capture quite a few shots that I think are not bad at all and want to share for you.

We walked through a market place, then to Pyynikki and slowly circling back to the city center towards the old Finlayson factory area to eat at Plevna and then to have more coffee and talk in a cafe inside Siperia. We parted ways around 9.30pm, with promises to do this again and try to get a few more people to attend.

If you ever have a change to meet Steemians in real life, do it!

tam2.jpg

tam3.jpg

tam4.jpg

tam12.jpg

tam5.jpg

tam6.jpg

tam7.jpg

tam8.jpg

tam9.jpg
@smallsteps and @momone being adorable.
tam10.jpg

tam11.jpg
Tiny @insaneworks
ceelstialbw.jpgTiny @celestal and @tarazkp's favourite tree.

tam13.jpg

tam14.jpg

tam15.jpg

tam16.jpg

All pictures are shot with the Fujifilm x100f.

Sort:  

These Steemian meet-ups are great to hear about. It seems each time you meet up you discover more great things. I love the pictures by the way.

Steemians are so inspiring on so many levels, it’s always a pleasure!

Thank you very much!

The classic black and white never disappoints, nice shots!

Thank you! I’m surprised I got this many usable shots considering the lack of consentration 😁

These are really good. :) You clearly have an eye for detail and capturing a passing moment at the right time.

Why thank you very much! I find it really hard to take photos when in a group though but I went for quantity when shooting to get a few quality shots :D

I went for quantity when shooting to get a few quality shots

Hmmm... I almost always do that. :D Exept macro photography when I can plan things for ages.

Are we going to see what you got on Saturday? 😊

Yeeeeeeees. Working on it. Almost done. So this evening perhaps. But gotta do some actual work too. :)

Looking forward to it!

It's nice to hear you had a fun meetup!
It's a shame that I couldn't make it, especially as I had an incident with some cat piss and all.. even though I didn't have a successful day on any level, maybe I'll have better luck on the next meetup!

We missed you and people were jealous that I’ve had the pleasure of meeting you in real life last year. We need to plan the next meetup well in advance so everyone can clear their calenders.

Cats are the devils.