Weekly meme dump

in #memes2 years ago

It wasn't that long ago that I was just as involved as it seems everyone else is with social media. It consumed hours of my days and I will admit that I actually went fishing for likes with a lot of my posts and even used it to brag about how my life was not as mundane as my counterparts that had office jobs and mundane lives. That was kind of dumb of me and I realize that. I don't need recognition for living near the beach, that's stupid.

The main reason why I left was because of the fact that I started seeing more and more real-life friends having throwdown arguments over politics or social issues and I know for a fact that these people would not act this way if they were face-to-face with that same person. I even saw family members publicly attempt to embarrass people that they are related to and even bring up secrets that shouldn't have been made public all over something like not liking a particular political candidate.

When I left I found myself becoming more involved in real life that is around me and not looking for photo ops to boost my online rep with people that I mostly didn't even know anyway. The only thing that I do now that could be considered something even like social media would be 9gag and it is a collection of mostly memes and Tweets that I find amusing. I rarely comment and even though there is some toxicity there in the comments section, it is mostly anonymous so nobody really cares.

Sometimes I find what I consider to be gems either because they are thought provoking, funny, or touching. These are some of those that I found in my time-wasting search for stuff.


image.png

I'm a big fan of dogs. I will always give them the time of day and intend to have one in my life until I am no longer capable of taking care of them, which will hopefully be the rest of my life. Dogs are the best and although they do come with their problems, I think that almost all dogs are amazing creatures.


image.png

There is a local friend of mine who is married and has kids yet he has a photo of himself as his background on his phone which he doesn't even password lock. I think this is crazy and stupid but we all join in for making fun of him for having a picture of himself as the background. He isn't even vain or anything but claims that if he loses his phone this will make it easier for people to return it to him. Ok dude, you crazy!


image.png

The title of this meme was "overpriced burger place starter pack" and while we don't really have that much of this going on here I know exactly what they mean when they say this. It's funny because it seems to be all the high end burger places that I have seen in other countries and it is extremely pretentious. It's a burger guys, there is only so many ways to make them, get over yourself.

Which brings about this


image.png

I was in a pub recently that had no menu. You had to scan the QR code to see what they even sell there. I'm not keen on using my phone for any sort of location tracking or anything else. I also don't want to see your poorly optimized for phones website so that I can attempt to make heads or tails of your 2 point font menu.

We insisted that they bring us a real menu or our group of 8 was going to leave. They complied. Fuck this trend. I'm not going to do it.


image.png

Tweets are frowned upon by many 9gag veterans but since I don't use Twitter, I would never see these gems if they weren't put there. I have a long standing fear of hot air balloons and you would have to strap me in there with a parachute on to get me into one. It's probably a lot safer than it appears but NOPE.


image.png

These are stupid memes with low IQ laughs but I like them. It also reminds me of the time I spent in corporate America when I was either interviewing or being interviewed. I read a bunch of books on how to nail interviews and one time I was interviewing for a job and looked to my left only to see that the office I was in had the same book that I had just read on interviews. The person that I was talking to basically used the exact procedure that was in that book, which I found lazy. I ended up being offered the job but before I left I pointed out the book to him and let him know that I was basically just responding with everything it says in the book. He laughed and admitted that he was following the line of questioning that was outlined in the same book.

I quit that job less than a year later because I found out that this level of compliance to a script was basically how the entire company was run. They are no longer in business.

That's it for now. I'll leave you with a picture of Nadi right after she got a bath. This was during the "zoomie" period that all dogs experience after getting a bath for some reason.


image.png

Sort:  

I saw that one about the hot air balloon somewhere else this past week. Funny stuff. The one about the burger joint is totally on point. I actually remember we had some places open near us where they were very vocal about the fact that they didn't have a burger on the menu. Like that set them apart or something. It wasn't long before they started adding burgers to the menu. Oddly enough, one of those places also had the QR code menu thing. Big problem though, they had horrible cell service and wifi in the building. They were forcing you to use something you couldn't even access. I just saw the other day they were announcing a huge upgrade to their wireless they finally completed. I think the early days of Covid really forced the QR code thing. That doesn't mean they should stick with it. I am the type of person who usually looks at the menu ahead of time if I know I am going somewhere specific. I do hate browsing non "responsive" pages on a smart phone.

Believe it or not, burger joints are one of the most popular type of establishments in Vietnam. I was surprised to find this out. For the most part they haven't gotten to the point of making it all hipster-ish over here and if they tried to charge $20 for a burger no one would eat there. I sometimes appreciate the fact that they are trying to think outside of the bun in some places but they just go a bit too nuts with it when the burger is so odd and filled with strange ingredients that you can't even pick the damn thing up without wearing it.

I had considered the QR code being a Covid thing but we are well past that now. Now I just think it is to save the place money and make it so they can update their menu on the fly. Now that Covid is a non-issue, if the place wants to do an electronic menu I think it should lie on them to provide tablets if they want to do this.

There is a fancier Italian joint near where we live that used to use their own tablets as the menu. We haven't been there in a while so I don't know if they still do. We went right after work so we would be dressed up, but I guess we still looked too trashy because they shoved us in the furthest table to the back. The food was fantastic, but the service was meh. I agree about them putting too much on burgers. If I have to wear it or eat it with a fork and knife that is a turn off.

Here in Asia a lot of places save money on staff, at least I guess that is the idea, by having tablets that are attached to the booths so you can order direct and someone just brings it all to you. This works out for foreigners quite well because you can choose from a dozen or so languages to get your order put in. I suppose that is one benefit of tech being a part of the ordering process, just don't expect me to install anything on my phone and I'm ok with it.

I guess places like Olive Garden and Red Robin moved to things like that a while ago too. I just didn't really connect the dots. I kind of makes me feel like I shouldn't have to tip as much because it drastically reduces the interaction between yourself and your server. I still do, but I always question how much they deserve it when most everything is done by me via a connected device.

I am with you on the menus as I would not scan for a menu as I have never scanned before lol. If I don't scan other shit I ain't scanning a menu and should be given an option. Those luxury burgers crossed my mind the other day as how easy that would be to do. It would cost for the set up as you would also have to make your buns nut the return profit would be staggering. People are suckers and will pay for almost anything.

The fancy burger joint tactic works on a lot of people but it's a phase that I think will consume itself. All the people opening new restaurants like this have to understand that this trend cannot possibly continue. I remember when places selling "wraps" were all the rage in the late 90's and early 00's but these days they are almost non-existent.

Even when I got to fast food burger place I order the most basic burger they sell so this was never going to work on me.

QR codes can suck eggs. I'm not handing over my personal data that easily.

Here we had the smash burgers being the rage and have never had one yet and they have been around for 15 years or so. I make my own and not blowing my own whistle, but very few come close. Nothing better than having a great mix and experimenting by adding new things just to try what works.

Yah dogs and zoomies and upvotes and supporters are so much better than being shoved to one side or the other in stupid social media manipulation machines.

I would have never come to share your journey if it weren’t for the blockchain and I love it.

I've followed the stories of so many people because of the blockchain, including yours! Of course I actually know very few of these people IRL but that doesn't really matter, does it?

!LOL

Where does a martial arts instructor in Bankok live?
In a Thai con-do.

Credit: reddit
@gooddream, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @memehive

Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ
(10/10)