A Writer's Retreat

in #mentalhealth4 years ago

Dear Daniel,

Everyone loves a writer's retreat. Or a writer's convention. They are very different things. Retreats are for getting writing done and have something to show for the end of your journey.

Conventions are about seeing old friends. Sitting on panels. And selling your wares. Maybe learning a thing or two.

One of the conventions that I attend seems to be in trouble. I honestly don't know if it will survive the summer. Which would be sad because Kentucky doesn't have another event like it.

Which has me thinking about founding a writer's retreat. Renting a nice house and inviting 6-12 people to take part in a week long event. In the past I proposed attaching it to this other convention, they rejected me and went to someone else with my idea. To say it stung would be an understatement but the truth is I'm now glad they did.

My relationship with the local film community is complex. Some people thought that I couldn't make it. That they were too good to work with me. I should thank them, I found a better caliber of talent to work with.

But to everyone who helped me out in the beginning there will always be a great deal of gratitude, no matter what the state of this writer's community is in.

So I wish to hold a writer's retreat. Maybe I can find some sponsors. As it is I've purchased a beautiful award. And have three more saved to purchase for the Conquering Disabilities w/Film International Film Festival.

With the Covid-19 quarantine extended for the foreseeable future and Indie Gathering cancelled until March of next year. I really only have one hope of screening live. And that's AOF Megafest. Nevada is a hot spot, but I pray Las Vegas doesn't spike any higher than it has.

My mother has beligerently insisted on vacationing in two hotspots and has bitched that Las Vegas would be worse, when their numbers are nowhere near Florida's or Tennessee's.

Please help me not worry so much. I can't control anything. I'm scheduled to shoot Recovery Unplugged in March, that may have to be moved to February. Hopefully Covid will be but a distant memory and a vaccine or a cure will have been found by then.

Sincerely,

Amy McCorkle



Posted from my G1NBC network page with SteemPress : http://g1nbc.net/healing-hands/?p=474