When Your Psychological Siblings Are Suffering

in #mentalhealth4 years ago

Dear Daniel,

My cousin Logan is missing. He has been for the last five days. He, like me, my sister and another cousin, has bipolar disorder. He had been doing well, but they decided to change up his medication, and over the last few months I've been watching him slowly deteriorate on social media. Desperately reaching out for the answers to his suffering.

But as it is with any of us with bipolar disorder there are often no answers. Logan tends to suffer from religious ideation. Where he believes he's a messenger from God. Such as Jesus or John the Baptist. Sometimes it's the opposite, sometimes he thinks he is the devil. He will try to "witness" to people who don't have his best interests at heart.

Five days with no contact is terrifying for family members. His mother is beside herself. I can only imagine what his sister and father are feeling. Not to mention his kids.

I look at Logan and think, there but for medication and the grace of god go I. I'm incredibly worried. One doesn't just go awol for five days unless something is misfiring in the brain or is hard wired wrong.

He is without his medication and the people he loves and that love him and support him. He is vulnerable and at risk. I often wonder why don't doctors listen when we put out the cry for help. The last time this happened Logan "witnessed" to the homeless and got the crap beat out of him.

He doesn't relate to me. He's actually closer to my sister Sara. Who has issues of her own in her not properly treated bipolar disorder.

It makes concentration on the new story difficult as I wonder where is Logan and how can I help him.

Usually the cousin who depends on me is Rebekah. Both of them and me, and yes even Sara, are in a unique club. Not one that we asked for but by genetic and circumstantial ties we've been dealt this harsh hand.

It's not a death sentence, but on bad day with no one helping us, it can be. I'm just asking that you pray for my cousin and that he comes home safely.

Sincerely,

Amy McCorkle



Posted from my G1NBC network page with SteemPress : http://g1nbc.net/healing-hands/?p=478
Sort:  

Congratulations @lettersgrrl! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 80 posts. Your next target is to reach 90 posts.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Introducing the HiveBuzz API for applications and websites
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!