How are you spending Christmas this year?

image.png

How are you going to spend Christmas this year?

I usually go to my mothers for gifts and lunch on Christmas Eve, then open presents on Christmas morning with my wife and son. Then immediately after head over to my wife's family and hang out there for most of the day.

This year we are staying home for Christmas Eve, will spend the day together playing games and hanging out. On Christmas morning we will open gifts and then do a zoom call with the family. We will be playing Bingo over zoom to determine who gets to pick presents first from a pool of presents we all bring.

We usually do a gift swap after picking numbers, but this year we will use Bingo instead of numbers.

After that, we just going to stay home and spend time together.

The good news is we are making a rotisserie turkey with mash potatoes, gravy, stuffing, and vegetables.

Have a good Christmas if you celebrate that sort of thing, if not just enjoy your family and friends!

Hopefully 2021 offers more than this train wreck but at least we got Bitcoin right?


Securely chat with me on Keybase

Why you should vote me as witness

Sort:  

Spending it like last year.
Visiting my parents, where my Grandma and 3 cousin and their mother comes :D
Also my Grandpas late wife comes with her son.

So no change in that, we are being more carefully with food gettibg delivered on the plate so only one person(my mom) touches the spoon and such.

We are having Christmas today / tonight. Where we will eat and open the presents after we have "danced" around the tree (properly not gonna do that this year). So people leave around midnight ^^

How i plan on spending Christmas is quite similar to yours. I would likely be spending it indoors with family and lots of gift to go around. Food and meat too

At home with the family. No traveling because of the corona thing.

Today we will be going to drop off some presents for a student and her family who got close to my wife over the past 2 years of teaching. Later in the evening we will be doing face-time calls with our family down south.

Tomorrow will be a get-together at another teachers house, for a small christmas dinner with a few teachers and 1/2 the RCMP in town (Aka 2 of them 😅)

The wife and I are torn on when to open christmas gifts though. My family has always traditionally opened them on the evening of the 24th, leaving only Santas bounty for the morning. But my wife's family opens them all the morning of the 25th.

(Btw if any of you guys need a "special message" from one of santas little helpers to keep the little ones in line, I live close enough to go talk to that jolly red bastard for you 🤣)

(Btw if any of you guys need a "special message" from one of santas little helpers to keep the little ones in line, I live close enough to go talk to they guy for you 🤣)

You may joke, but I used to buy these personalized Santa videos every year.

https://www.portablenorthpole.com/santa-video

Wishing you and your loved ones a peaceful and healthy Christmas. Stay safe and happy :-)

Merry Christmas Marky!

Enjoy time w/ family for sure.

For me, just a small gathering here to exchange some presents, cook some food and be merry. I'm looking forward to 2021. All the best!🎅

This year it's no decorations, no turkey, probably just have a nice meal and make a apple pie and eat some pork pie.

Really not in the mood to any celebration at all.

Really not in the mood to any celebration at all.

That's all the reason to celebrate!

Original plan, given the rules at the time was for us, my parents and sister's family to stay in a hotel, but they would not allow more than 2 households to meet up. Sister decided to stay in Scotland, but parents were going to come to us on Xmas day. The government changed the rules again on Monday so that is not allowed. So it's just my lot at home and we will try to hook up with the others on Zoom. I wonder if it will cope with demand tomorrow. We were looking to have a quiz between us.

In our house the kids will probably not be up early as they are grown up now. Will have some presents in the morning, a big lunch and then more presents. Will try to play some games, but there will probably be lots of TV too.

I plan to run in the morning, as I did today. Looking to see how far I can run over the Xmas period. It compensates for some of the extra calories.

Have a good one.

At our family's mountain cabin😃. Christmas Eve will be pretty much the same as previous years despite covid.

IMG_20201224_155159.jpg

received_3567828329936899.jpeg

Your Christmas sounds very nice, almost perfect with gifts and whole family to share. It makes me happy for you @themarkymark

In my case, I am also lucky that we have food and life to celebrate. Our Christmas dish is the Venezuelan hallaca and ham bread, a real treat.

We will have no gifts, no clothes to wear. With food it is already a luxury, but I am very happy because today I have my complete family, alive and moderately healthy.

I'm hoping for a low-key Christmas. 2020 had had far too much drama and chaos. I do have an invitation to visit some friends, though, if ai feel like going anywhere at all.

We basically aren’t changing much at all. It has always been to either hit my Grandma’s on Christmas Eve or Head to My parents Christmas Day. One or the other. An hour there and an hour back both days isn’t fun for Christmas. So since last year we went on Christmas Eve, this year we are headed over on Christmas Day.

Food wise, I didn’t plan too well. I was thinking about doing some Pork ribs or Tri-tip on the Smoker... crap!! I better get something figured out for Christmas Dinner. It may be a soup and grilled cheese type of night. Lol

Merry Christmas!!

Spent it at the Tokyo visa office...turns out I was missing a single ID number from my boss which he sent 2 minutes too late for me to hand in my documents...heading back there on monday. At least I got my Hivefest Day 2 recap done :-D

Merry Christmas Marky!

We spent it with my mum, who lives next door, it's been a real benefit especially through the last year. My brother usually comes home, he lives in London, however this year as they're in tier 4 that was a no go. Luckily we got to see Annabelles side of the family back in September.