The biggest Giant Millipede of North America I've found yet.

in #millipede4 years ago (edited)

thumbnail_20201006_091615_2_resized.jpg

The North American Giant Millipede.

This millipede was HUGE!!! You might recall I found one of these last year when I was still living in Fayetteville. That one I found wasn't near as big as this one. This one was full size. I want to say at least 5 inches long, maybe even 6.

thumbnail_20201006_091628_2_resized.jpg

thumbnail_20201006_091748_2_resized.jpg

thumbnail_20201006_091858_2_resized.jpg

I tried counting all its legs but it wouldn't stay still long enough for me to get an accurate count so I gave up HA HA. I'm sure I could just look up how many legs these millipedes have. It kind of tickles feeling them walk on you. One thing that I always found interesting about millipedes is how their legs all move in waves as they walk.

thumbnail_20201006_092456_2_resized.jpg

After handling the millipede for awhile it secreted this yellow orange ink like substance all over my fingers. I don't know if it was the creatures blood or just an ink like substance it lets out to deter predators. I know the big big giant millipedes that live in Africa that are way bigger than this will sometimes spray an ink like substance to deter predators. My fingers are now stained with this crap. It doesn't wash off so easy HA HA.

Another thought I had after catching this millipede is why there are creatures on this planet, worms and snakes, that have no legs at all but still get around. Then you have centipedes and millipedes that have probably well over 100 legs. Why is that? Worms and snakes have no legs but a millipede has more legs than any other creature on the planet. Hmmm... Nature always makes me wonder.

Here is the Giant Millipede I caught last year:
https://hive.blog/nature/@hippie-witha-gun/i-found-a-giant-millipede-the-other-day

Here is the other Giant Millipede I found earlier this year:
https://hive.blog/millipede/@hippie-witha-gun/i-found-another-giant-millipede-today


I'm Theo aka Rainbow Man and here is the PROOF!!!
thumbnail_20201006_092109_2_resized.jpg
PROOF of Giant Millipede

Thanks for looking and,

Stay Un-Tune-Ed...

Sort:  

Of course you caught something.. actually Dustin caught a horned toad today that made me think of you.. I was like there's a blog there somewhere..

DUDE! Did it squirt blood at him? I so want to catch one of those lizards. That is awesome that you have them where you are at. I'd love to have one for a pet. I hope you post a blog of it.

No blog. Maybe I'll get a picture. This is the 2nd one he's caught. Both in the same camp site.

In the mean time check out this Fence Lizard I just caught today. It got away from me before I take a selfie with it HA HA but I did a short video of the lizard.
https://hive.blog/lizard/@hippie-witha-gun/now-look-what-i-caught-a-big-fat-male-fence-lizard