HUMILITY + PATIENCE // PvP Gaming Journal #2

in #mindset3 years ago (edited)

Losses are lessons. It's simple, I learn more when I lose.

When I lose games in PvP, the natural inclination is to get annoyed at my mistakes. I should have played better! Why didn't I focus, why did I make that dumb move?

I think a little bit of that heat is healthy. It makes me want to improve. BUT. More than a little bit becomes counter-productive.

pexels-philippe-donn-1114690.jpg
Photo by Philippe Donn from Pexels

Instead of being mad, in theory, it would be better to get excited about the opportunity to learn. After all, if I want to win games, the way to do so is to get better at the game. When I lose, I can analyze the opponent's play and see what they did better.

On the contrary when I win I can only look at my own strategies that I already prepared. I am not getting new information, unless I see the opponent make a novel mistake.

Radical Learning


How can I even come close to this enlightened mindset? How could I feel grateful to lose a match because it gives me something to learn?

I think we need to radically point ourselves in a different direction mentally. Make winning a natural outcome of our actions. Don't allow win and lose to be up for debate. Instead, assume you are magnetized towards the win. Create this magnetism by obsessing over the opportunity to learn.

I can learn something new about the game today. Do I know the stats of every single weapon, item, monster, card, etc? Is it memorized, or at least within a 5 second reference? (no)

What are ALL the major archetypes? How are they built? What are the most common openers used by those archetypes, and what is the endgame or the finisher? (i kind of know, but not as well as I could)

What is my team, my build, my opening? How does it handle the strongest builds I will be facing against? (hard to answer this if i don't know all the other stuff)

It's easy to feel overwhelmed by the amount of information to learn. I know this is hard for me since I don't have a natural inclination for note-keeping. The first step is to learn how to organize info -- keeping notebooks, flash cards. With better organization, more information can be learned and retained. I am still working a LOT on getting better at this first step of the process.

I Want to Learn


I want to learn because learning is living. When we stop learning, we go into a form of autopilot. Some would say that death begins as soon as learning ends. I'm either learning and evolving or else I am decaying, becoming more predictable and weaker while the opposition adapts to my techniques.

Obsess over learning. Not because you can win, but because you can learn. In this way, winning becomes inevitable.

Sort:  

Congratulations @quixoticflux! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 100 comments.
Your next target is to reach 200 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the April 1st Hive Power Up Day
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!