Tank Paint Tests

in #miniatures4 years ago

I've been spending my free time testing different paints on some less-than-perfect miniatures that I've printed, and the results are... interesting, to say the least.

DSC_0290.JPG

Some paint jobs were just playing about with different mixtures, others were trials of my airbrush paints. The airbrush paints in question were all from this set: https://www.micromark.com/Acrylicos-Vallejo-German-Colors-1927-1941-Paint-Set_3

DSC_0291.JPG

The U-3 and Object 279 were both painted with "medium olive," and for those who have seen photos, you may know that Object 279 was once painted in a nearly identical solid colour at one point.

DSC_0292.JPG

For some reason, this particular colour was a bit runnier than the others. I didn't mix any of these airbrush paints at all, I just used them straight from the bottle in my airbrush.

DSC_0293.JPG

The KV-1S, meanwhile, is painted in "camoflage dark green," but I gave it scant coverage in an attempt to replicate a mottled pattern that was common on KV-1S tanks.

DSC_0294.JPG

I'm going to ignore the German tanks for now, since, although the paint job itself was good, the colour, "panzer dark grey," is way too dark. This is the T-10M, which I initially painted with a mix that I made myself, but which was far too thin, resulting in an extremely uneven colour. I primed the hull, but not the turret, mainly because I was curious about paint adhesion on non-primed surfaces. The back of the hull and front of the turret have both been painted with the same colour as the KV-1S.

DSC_0295.JPG

I did much the same with the IS-3, except that I applied the dark green airbrush paint with a regular brush. Again, this was just out of curiosity, and I can say with certainty that using airbrush paint with a regular brush is something that I don't plan on doing unless I have very specific needs.

DSC_0296.JPG

The paint on the ST-1 was almost entirely the product of emptying out the airbrush. Apparently, improperly-mixed paint, even paint that is too thin, has a tendency to stay inside the airbrush after it's been washed. In short, I think I'll just stick with pre-mixed airbrush paint, since I doubt I'll have a lot of need for custom colours.

DSC_0297.JPG

Finally, the SU-100Y got the most paint on it. I put multiple coats of different colours just to see what they did. The main reason for this is simply that the names of the colours on the paint bottles are not always what you might expect, and I didn't have a decent test palette made up. When I have more time, I'll do some proper painting tests. After that, I'll print and paint a whole series of samples to take pictures of for my online catalogue.