Lockdown: Mixing things up a little around Caister Roman Fort.

in #mobilephotography3 years ago

With yet another lockdown in place, I've been trying to mix my morning dog walks a little, as to be frank I'm getting bored of seeing the same things every day.

I'd usually head to the beach on a Saturday morning and watch the sunrise over the sea. Today we (the dog and I), stuck to a walk around the village. It was beautifully clear with a good frost and we watched the sunrise over the remains of Caister Roman Fort.

AFC106E56A5C42B2AD948A5B88DC7B63.jpeg

The fort was built around 200 AD and was occupied until the end of the 4th century. The fort had a garrison of between 500 and a 1000 men although nobody is sure whether these would have been army or navy. The landscape is very different these days, the fort would have sat on an island when it was originally built and modern day Great Yarmouth would have been an estuary.

Discoveries during the dig suggested women and children were also living within the fort.

Sort:  

That's a cool thing to have nearby. I know what you mean about having variety. I'm stuck at home for the duration, but at least get out for my runs. No ancient ruins around here that I know of.

!BEER


Hey @stav, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Congratulations @stav! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 2000 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 3000

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP