A New Page In The History Books - My Entry For Monomad

in #monomad3 years ago
My entry for the monomad photography contest


FEH_4286.jpg


An 'Outing' today.

A day with an 'outing'. For a long time my motivation to take pictures has disappeared. Since the start of the second corona lockdown, it seems to have only become more difficult to find that motivation again.

Every day is alike

You don't get anywhere, you have almost no contacts with other people, hell ... I hardly see anybody else than my partner. Every day I walk around in the same environment with the dogs, and since we live a bit in the middle of nowhere, the inspiration to photograph the same subjects every day at the same locations is also a bit taken off with the northern sun.

Everything I started to build disappeared with Corona

Before Corona came to visit, I regularly had that I could go somewhere else, or that I had people visit for a photo shoot. When I became a member of the photo club it got even better because it also resulted in contact with other people, and assignments had to be made. But all of a sudden Corona came, and everything I started to build disappeared with her arrival. Unfair? Well, I don't know. But it felt like I was standing still again.

Developed other interests

And slowly I started to develop other interests, my camera stayed in my bag more and more, the bag moved to a place in the closet where it could not be knocked over and days went on, and then weeks, and now even a few months. Without even looking at my camera.

An unexpected request changed my attitude

Until a month or so ago I suddenly received a request via facebook. The daughter of a family that I have had in front of my lens many times before is getting married. And the question was whether I wanted to photograph the wedding. It came as a bit of a shock to me, not because I don't think I'm a good photographer, but because I'm not known for wedding photography. I have mainly always photographed dogs and other animals, in addition mostly nature, and occasionally I did photo shoots with people. But my specialty really lies mainly with the animals. So I wondered if I would be the right person to photograph a wedding.

You can't repeat this

After all, a wedding is not something you can just do all over again, when you are not satisfied with the photos. Each photo must be 'SPOT-ON'. And in addition, such a day is hard work for me as a photographer. Because I have to be everywhere. From dressing the bride, dressing the bridegroom, the moment they see each other for the first time, giving the bride away, the yes-word, exchanging the rings, the kiss ... etc. Many moments in this one day that you simply should not miss as a photographer. Yes, I have previously photographed a wedding on assignment and that bridal couple were very happy with the results. But that was quite a few years ago. And what I especially remember about that… is how tired I was at the end of the day.

Many questions in my head

In addition, I was left with the question… “What can I ask for such a day?”. It is not the case that your work is finished when the day is over. Photographing on such a day requires a lot of effort from you as a photographer, but then the real work actually starts. You have numerous RAW files, each of which has to be passed through an editing process. All in all, it takes quite a bit of time… not to mention the responsibility you take on by taking on wedding photography. Did I want this?

Fears of failure

After the question came, I said I wanted to think about it for a while and discussed the pros and cons with my partner. And then resolutely tried to put my own 'fears of failure' aside. After all, I know the bride, I know the bride's family… and they approached me because they really wanted me as a photographer because of the results achieved in previous photo shoots. So why should I be insecure about my ability? Once I figured that out, I promised to do this… and today was the day we went there to see the wedding location.

FEH_4284.jpg


A location with history

Unfortunately we couldn't go in today to see the whole site, there was another wedding going on, and you don't walk uninvited between wedding guests to have a look around. But from the outside you can already see that it is a beautiful location. A location with history.

July 1, 2021 I'm going to 'write' a piece of history

Where on July 1, 2021 another piece of history will be added to the long list. And that day will be a day that I will keep in my memories for a long time to come. Because that is the day that I will be there to capture the most beautiful day in the lives of two other people forever.

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 54 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
5


Hey @hetty-rowan, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Hello @hetty-rowan and thank you very much for your #monomad participation.
Please keep in mind that in order to be valid, and as stated in our rules, every entry needs to be posted in the Black And White Community.
Unfortunately we will not be able to consider this one for that reason 🙁

Thanks for your reply @monochromes ... It's been so long since I posted for the monochromes contest that I had forgotten about that rule. It was not until AFTER I posted that I remembered that. I will keep it in mind, as I plan to get much more back to my camera. So there will be more new photos from me, and I'm sure I will find new black and whites.

🙂