From the Man in the Moon to Rabbits Making Mochi - Pareidolic Images on the Luner Landscape

in #moon2 years ago

When you look at the moon, what do you see?

Depending on its phase it could be a carefully cut fingernail clipping, a slice of lemon, or the eye of a giant raven looking down at us. But when the moon is full, the darker spots on its circular shape prompt a number of interpretations. In Western culture it is the famous "Man in the Moon" people talk about a lot. Throughout my childhood I have heard him mention numerous times... but whenever I looked at the full moon, I never once saw a face. No matter how many times people have tried to point out its features. Eventually I stopped caring alltogether... until very recently.


image source

Finding Out Once And For All

As I got inspired to this post, I decided to finally see what the images on the Internet could tell me about this pareidolic interpretation of the lunar surface. Where is that face supposed to be? Of course, people tend to see faces in all kinds of things, reminding me of the "fucked up face" the protagonist in the brilliant movie My Private Idaho sees in a road, before he falls narcoleptic. (If you don't know, it's a movie worth checking out.)


image source

Sure it Looks Like a Face! Why Not?

So in this landscape you could certainly claim that the two trees on the horizon would be the eyes, and the road the nose merging into the mouth... but honestly, I'm sure many interpreters would agree with me that it's pretty far fetched. Right? Okay, so what about the moon?


image source

Is This Supposed to be the famous man in the moon? (...talking about fucked up...) But for real??? I mean, if this is seriously that famous moon face, then it would make that Idaho road face positively handsome! How don't children get scared of this? (Probably because they haven't been able to see it either!) Fortunately, there are better interpretations out there.

Asian and American Moon Rabbits

The neat thing about pareidolia is that you can make up your images as you like. This is why it's so hard to get others to see what is so clear and obvious for you. Though in some cases, when the image is really obvious, people may see the same things. In some truly spectacular cases, this may even be true on different continents. Enter the rabbit!

When I was living in Japan I heard the folkloric tale that there were two rabbits on (or in) the moon, making mochi. By then I was quite familiar with these delicious candies made of pounded sweet rice. And I even saw cartoons of the two bunnies smashing the rice in a mortar, in carefully timed tandem moves, when one rabbit lifted its wooden hammer, the other one would hit the rice, and so on. I really liked this cute legend, but back then I never even thought that it was conceived from looking at the moon's appearance.


image source

Quetzalcoatl Elevating the Rabbit to the Moon

It wasn't until years later, that I remembered this Japanese tale when I heard a very similar legend from Aztec mythology. It had to with one of the most important deities, the feathered serpent Quetzalcoatl, who once walked the earth in human form. At one point he found himself quite tired, hungry, and far away from civilization. He was about to starve to death, when a rabbit offered itself as his nourishment. He accepted (presumably), but first he lifted up the small rabbit into the moon, to make sure it would be honored and remembered forever. ... and as a result, you can still see the rabbit in the moon today. Thus ends the story.

Really? So you can still see the rabbit, kinda like the weird images of the stellar constellations? I knew I had to check for myself. And lo and behold, the next time I gazed at the full moon, the rabbit revealed itself to me! There was its round little body, its pointy nose, and its two long ears! I was ecstatic. What was even better, is when I told other folks about this, and tried to point out the rabbit, they actually saw it! Or maybe they were just too polite to say no.


image source

The Rabbit is the Cultural Winner

I got my inspiration to this post from a comment @heroldius wrote me about my last post, where I already mentioned the lunar rabbit in the myth of the Mexica. Now that I actually looked into it, I'm realizing that it's not just the Japanese and Mexicans who see a rabbit in the moon. According to Wikipedia, the moon rabbit is part of the Chinese, Korean, Vietnamese, Thai, Khmer, Indian, and Sri Lankan traditions. As for the Americas, there is a similar Cree tale of a rabbit wanting to ride the moon, and a crane who helped to put him there.

Sort:  

I never even thought about the likely various different cultural interpretations of what's on the surface of the moon, but I would have to imagine globally that a human face is the most common interpretation. This post makes me want to ask my wife is there a traditional Cambodian belief about this 🤔.

Nice! Yes, please ask her! I would be super curious! While in Europe and North America the human face seems to be the only thing I heard, in Japan it was the rabbit, and here in Mexico it's about half and half.
!PIZZA

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@stortebeker(1/5) tipped @justinparke (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

Congratulations @stortebeker! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 22000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 23000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP