Beautiful Sunday with scones and kittens, เพื่อนทำขนมให้และพาลูกแมวมาเดินเล่น

in GEMS4 years ago (edited)

An old friend, who decided to take the voluntary retirement deal and moved to Nongkhai, offered to bake some scones for me. He said he wanted to know if they tasted authentic and were the proper scones which I used to have in the UK. Luckily, I was an expert on tasting all delicious scones, bread, cakes, pastries and chocolates. That was because my best friend was an excellent cook and a good baker so I had been quite spoiled. That’s probably why I never had to know how to cook properly as there was always someone in charge of the cooking.

During the last few years, famous tearooms from abroad have opened branches in Bangkok. High society people and the new rich class have flocked to these places in order to be seen. There are various versions of expensive boxes of scones being offered by tearooms and well known celebrity bakers. Scones have become a sign of sophistication and high culture. Fortunately I never had to pay for those over priced scones as I was often invited to taste various brands of scones by friends. They all wanted to known what an old hand thought about these scones. So far there was only one place in Bangkok that could make scones and clotted cream to perfection. So, my old friend sent me a photo of his freshly baked scones before he actually brought them to me as my weekend present.

img_2768.jpg

To my surprise, he dropped by with scones, freshly baked bread and papaya salad for my lunch. This friend was very fond of cooking and baking; he had attended several courses on cooking and baking at an adult education center before moving to a his new retirement spot in Nongkhai. So, I was lucky to have such a friend and neighbour living only fifteen minutes away from my house.

img_2747.jpg

I had been used once more as an informal judge of all the three items. My friend was quite pleased to get my approval on his scones and mixed grains bread. I did tell him not to add sugar in scones and raisins in scones would not seem authentic. Thai people have sweet tooth so they add either raisins or strawberry in scones making them too sweet and tasting like fruit cakes. We had a proper review of the texture and tastes of the two kinds of scones he made including the warm bread too. I didn’t know food could become a very intellectual debate. But I was very pleased that he brought his young kittens to my place.

img_2757.jpg

img_2756.jpg

These kittens are about six months old; my friend adopted a stray cat who has already become pregnant. Luckily he’s cat lovers so he looked after the mother cat very well and she gave him four kittens. Recently one kitten went exploring the neighborhood and never cane back. He reckoned the kitten got killed by the big dog next door as that dog had not been allowed to roam around the house after the kitten disappeared.

img_2744.jpg

So, my friend decided not to allow his kittens playing outside in his garden anymore. I was quite concerned that these kittens would become toom house bound. So, I suggested that he brought them to my house so that they could take a walk and explore the garden. He had his three kittens on pink leads and tie the string to one of the poll and let the kittens get acclimatised to my house. They were so afraid and stressed as they were used to being inside the house all the time. Some kittens were shaking and they were all crouching on the floor sticking together as a bundle. My friend had to comfort them and offer them some snack but they refused to eat. They were looking very fit and muscular. We just waited for them to become more relaxed.

img_2750.jpg

img_2755.jpg

img_2754.jpg

These kittens never got to know other people so I was glad I did persuaded my friend to take them to visit me. They were so nice and gentle; they allowed me to touched them without any threatening gestures. They really need to develop the skills and courage to live in the real world just in case they had to fend for themselves one day.

img_2758.jpg

เพื่อนเก่าที่ตัดสินใจเข้าโครงการเออรีรีไทน์ แล้วย้ายตามมาอยู่ที่หนองคายนั้น ทำขนมสโกนมาให้เราชิมเมื่ออาทิตย์ก่อน เพราะเขาอยากรู้ว่าเจาทำเหมือนกับของต้นตำรับหรือเปล่า เขาก็ถ่ายรูปขนมที่พึ่งอบเสร็จส่งมาให้ดูก่อน แล้วพอมาถึงบ้านเราก็อบขนมปังและเอาส้มตำมาให้ลองชิมด้วย ขนมปังพึ่งเอาออกจากเตาอบยังอุ่นอยู่เลย เราต้องทำหน้าที่เป็นกรรมการตัดสินทุกอย่างว่ามีรสชาติเป็นอย่างไร ผ่านหรือเปล่า เพื่อนคนนี้ขิบทำอาหารมาก เขาไปเรืยนการทำอาหารและการทำขนมเค็กต่างๆมาแล้ว แต่เขาอยากรู้ว่าคนอย่างเราจะมีความเห็นอย่างไร ความที่เราเคยกินขนมมามากมายตอนอยู่เมืองนอก และมีเพื่อนชอบทำอาหารและขนมให้กินประจำ เราจึงมีความชำนาญเรื่องการชิมอาหารและขนม เพื่อนเราก็ดีใจมากที่เราชอบขนมปังสีนํ้าตาลมาก ส่วนขนมสโกนมีมาสองแบบ แบบธรรมดาและแบบใส่ลูกเกด เราชอบแบบธรรมดามากกว่า ลูกเกดทำให้ขนมมีรสหวานมากไป ส่วนส้มตำนั้นจืดสนิทเพราะเราสั่งว่าห้ามใส่น้ำตาลและพริกขี้หนู ห้ามใส่ผงชูรสและรสดี รสชาติออกมาแบบธรรมชาติมาก เพื่อนเราบอกว่าเขากินแบบนี้ไม่ได้เลย

img_2746.jpg

img_2748.jpg

เราเขิญเพื่อนมาบ้านเพื่อให้เขาพาลูกแมวสามตัว มาเดินเล่นวิ่งเล่นในสวน ให้โอกาสแมวได้สำรวจโลกกว้างใหญ่ภายนอกบ้านบ้าง เพื่อนเคยมีลูกแมวสี่ตัว แต่ตัวหนึ่งหายไปตั้งแต่เขาปล่อยให้แมวเดินเล่นในสวน มันคงปีนกำแพงไปเที่ยวแต่ไปโดนสุนัขของบ้านติดกันกัดจนตาย เพราะพอแมวหายไป เพื่อนบ้านก็ขังสุนัขในกรงและไม่ปล่อยให้วิ่งเล่นรอบบ้านเหมือนเดิม เพื่อนเราก็ให้แมววิ่งเล่นอยู่แต่ในบ้าน เราก็เลยอยากให้ลูกแมวมาเดินเล่นที่กว้างๆบ้าง แมวมาถึงก็กลัวแปลกที่ทาง ตัวสั่นขาสั่นกัน มันเครียดมากจนไม่ยอมกินขนมแมว เพื่อนต้องปลอบอยู่นาน พวกลูกแมวก็นั่งรวมกันเป็นกลุ่มก้อน สักพักเราก็ให้เพื่อนพาแมวโยกไปตามจุดอื่น เพื่อให้แมวได้สำรวจสถานที่แบบที่แมวชอบ สักชั่วโมงหนึ่งแมวก็เริ่มสบายใจขึ้น ทุกตัวใจดีมาก มันยอมให้เราจับตัวลูบตัวโดยไม่มีการขู่เลย พอพาเข้าไปใกล้สนามหญ้า พวกแมวก็เริ่มอยากเดินสำรวจมากขึ้น เราคิดว่าลูกแมวต้องมีการฝึกให้สามารถอยู่เองได้ เพื่อจะได้รู้จักเอาตัวรอดในอนาคต เราคงขอให้เพื่อนเอาแมวมาเดินเล่นที่บ้านอีก เพื่อให้แมวของเรารู้จักแมวสามตัวนี้ด้วย

img_2760.jpg

img_2766.jpg

I asked my friend to take his cats for a walk around a bit and to let them walk on the lawn. They become more relaxed and inquisitive. The outside world must have seemed so large and strange for these kittens.

img_2763.jpg

img_2762.jpg

I think I should invite these kittens to come visit again so that I could introduce them to my orange cats.

img_2759.jpg

img_2767.jpg

Wishing you all a very productive week.

Stay strong and healthy!

Sort:  

three friendly cats!

Three brotherly cats! The only duster got killed by the neighbour’s big dog!

I love your garden. I love scones and papaya salad. And I love kittens!!!!!

What I wouldn't give to be in your shoes with so many great things. I hope your friend brings the sweet kittens more so we can see them again.

All the best.

Thank you so much for your kind wishes. I hope you could come back to Thailand in the near future. Meanwhile, stay alive with strength, good health and calm mind.

Take care and become prosperous!

Oh you are have too much cats they’re looks so lovely ☺️

Ya! I have two orange cats. These three kittens belong to my friend. They care to visit me for a while.

You also like cats!

Beautiful pictures!
These beautiful kittens look over 6 months old :-)

Thank you very much. My friend tells me they are six months old! He feeds them boiled fish everyday! They eat much better fish than me!! LoL

I also love fish!

Me too! Fish is my favourite menu!

I like to fish and catch. It is a pity that now there is no time for fishing...

I hope you would find the time soon!

They have a privilege! hahaha!

Very lucky cats! They eat more fish than me!

I'm no expert but I'll taste a scone anytime.
Personally, I think need to let the the kittens loose to let them grow up.

Yup! I am trying to get these kittens to learn to live like normal kittens. They are being over protected! They won’t survive very long if they got lost in the real world. But they are very gentle and friendly, with good manner! LoL

I love scones! You can get them in the UK with raisins in them (in fact you can do all sorts of things - cheesy scones are nice) but they are delicious just plain (the traditional cream tea you would have strawberries and thick clotted cream with the plain scones.

The food looks lovely and those pictures of the kittens are so cute!

Thank you so much. Oh! I miss the scones you have with clotted cream and strawberry!! Very rich and yummy.

Those kittens are really friendly abs nice. I hope to persuade them to come visit again!

Have a nice dry day!

Thanks for the mention.

Happy for you! One enjoys cooking while the other doesn't. Complement each other like DNA base pairing! 😄

Thank you so much! Yup! I am lucky bro have a nice friend who is a good cook and baker! This means I have to walk a bit longer in the evening! LoL