Is it Worth it? The Nun!

in #movies6 years ago

No Spoilers!

Is it worth spending your hard-earned money to see The Nun in theaters? I would have to say no. While The Nun is well made and based on an interesting enough premise, it simply was not scary enough. Now I know that what you find scary is mostly a personal thing but this movie just doesn't have enough "scare" moments to satisfy anyone I know. The movie lacks that critical balance between exposition and horror. That's not to say it's a bad movie, it's actually pretty well made for a horror movie, unfortunately it is just too boring to receive a recommendation from me. I enjoyed the other two Conjuring movies, they weren't great but they had some scares and you didn't feel every painful minute of the run-time like you do with The  Nun. Despite coming in at almost a half hour less than the other movies it felt much longer. Usually I would say don't rely on jump scares but this movie could have honestly used a few to keep people awake.

 Another baffling thing with this movie is that it somehow manages to have too much exposition and still not answer any of the critical questions surrounding the plot. I won't give any specifics but suffice it to say that you will be wondering what exactly is going on through much of the movie. To sum it up, this movie is just fine on a small screen if it's the kind of thing you are into. I don't see this appealing to anyone outside of horror fans, and even there it's a pretty weak offering. Save your money and rent it if you really want to see it.

Sort:  

thanks for sharing dear

Haha I kind of figured it wasn't going to be great. It is really hard for a horror movie to impress me though and there are so many bad ones that I always go into them assuming that they are going to suck lol.

It looked pretty bad from the trailer and I don't plan to go and see this one haha, so I guess I agree with your review.

To be perfectly honest I was looking forward to seeing The Nun. But reading this, I seem a bit less motivated and pumped to go. I though it was gonna be okay but I was hoping for a big thriller not something of this caliber as you stated. Thanks for the advice so I don't have to waste money!

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Check @resteembot's introduction post or the other great posts I already resteemed.

You just planted 0.12 tree(s)!


Thanks to @darthnihilus

We have planted already 3455.43 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 39479.21
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png