The First Morel Mushroom I've Seen This Year

in #mushroommonday4 years ago

IMG_20200511_133635.jpg

Hello, everyone. Today I was tipped off that there was a special mushroom nearby my house. I went to the location to investigate and it was true! This morel sprung up on the edge of a woodchip pile that has been on this person's front yard for a few years now. The house is about halfway up the block (while I'm at the end of the block).
This was a surprise because I thought these only grew in the forest but here this one is in the middle of a residential neighborhood in the windy city.
Seeing it as a good omen, I went for a walk in the woods. Unfortunately, we didn't find any more. However, we were only leisurely walking along a trail and not thoroughly hunting for them. There probably are more out there but I don't think I'll find them.
Good luck to everyone else out there searching! Happy hunting!

Sort:  

I've noticed them in woodchips a few times over the years. Now if only we could figure out how to cultivate them that way lol.

Maybe that's why they've had the pile there for so long. I've even stolen a few bags from them. Maybe I'll get lucky too.

If you have a dead alder tree somewhere and put the chips around it perhaps it will take to growing under that tree.

All I have in my yard is a dying maple tree.

Hmm maybe just get some oyster plugs for it then. It should produce multiple harvests each year.

That would be a good idea, but I think it's already colonized by Polyporus squamosus

that's good they can be on the same tree. Have you ever tried dryad's saddle? It works really good tempure fried if you harvest the outer edge of them at around when they are 4 or 5 inches in diameter.

dead alder tree

why you stress it better should be alder, hmm?..

I read somewhere that morels like dead alder tree roots to grow out of. Though I've seen them grow out of dead pear tree roots as well. Maybe it has something to do with the age of the dead tree rather than the species... But around here I find most under alder trees.