Sort:  

Hi @cmp2020,

I just wanted to thank you for creating this post, and let you know that it was shared on the Steemit's Best Classical Music facebook page, and also included in Steemit's Best Classical Music Roundup [Issue #17].

What a great survey!

You know, I'm ashamed to say I never learned a Beethoven sonata all the way through. A movement of this, a movement of that... The final movement to the "Moonlight" is so invigorating, but my teacher at the time thought something a little less overplayed was more appropriate.

People confused Valentina Lisitsa with Lady Gaga? Puh-lease. Gaga wishes she had a fraction of Litisa's talent.

I think I have listened to that youtube video of Valentina Lisitsa playing the Moonlight Sonata half a dozen times or more since he posted this article. What a great composition and a masterful performance.

That and Rondo a Capriccio. Of course the others are all good too, but it's much easier to commit to 6 or 14 minutes of listening than 60. ; -)

That's the thing about music, isn't it? Listening to any performance takes time. There's no equivalent to "speed reading" or "skimming," either. Well, I suppose you can drag the playback slider around looking for the good bits, but it destroys the experience.

As I'm sure @cmp2020 has realized by now, learning a 20 minute piece means playing through that piece hundreds of times. That's a lot of hours! No wonder it takes so long to build up a decent repertoire.

Question for discussion "Who was Elise?"

I checked Google, and there are a couple theories, but it seems that no one knows for sure. I also learned that no one even knew that the piece existed until 40 years after Beethoven's death, and that the musicologist who claimed to have discovered the score subsequently claimed to lose it.

It's easy to imagine that Beethoven might have written the song piece for a romantic interest, and kept it private out of embarrassment. If so, it's nice to know that even genius composers harbor their own insecurities.

My favorite theory was that he wrote it for Elisabeth Roeckel.

one of the greatest composers of all time... my favorite is the FUR ELIS

I enjoy classical music and I also enjoy modern takes on classical music.
Vanessa Mae helps to bring new people over that normally wouldn't be interested. I especially like the way she merges techno with classical music.

awesome post ,, i am the first one who comment on your post @cmp2020

I am happy with this post. Beethoven is one of my favorite composers. I was impressed with his crazy way of living, I admire his strength and talent. He is one of ˝those˝ on the line between being crazy and genius.
Thank you for this post! 🎵

I also like Beethoven. But, my favorites is Antonio Vivaldi. Four Season is awesome. Nice write @cmp2020

Excellent work. I don't have much time now but in a week(or more) I will read this. I added this to my browser marks.

His symphonies have a special place in my heart. Any day! Also string quartets. Thanks for the post.

Outstanding! Thanks for posting.

Amazing post thanks a lot dear friend for sharing with us your lovely post @cmp2020