This is my review about Radiohead's Street Spirit (Fade Out)

in #music3 years ago

Street Spirit which it is also known as Fade Out, is one of The Radiohead (British Alternative Rock Band) hit songs and it was the final track from their 2nd album "The Bends", the song released in 1995, about this song Thom Yorke said that it was inspired by the American band R.E.M and a novel from 1991 which it was called "The Famished Road" written by Ben Okri. The song used to be called "Three-Headed Street Spirit" which later they changed its name to "Street Spirit".

Image Source

This song was performed in A minor and it has a great arpeggiated clean Electric Guitar which performs from the start to the end of the song and it has a great emotion in it and while Yorke is singing along with it, it became amazing. the song starts softly and slowly other instruments like drums and bass adds to it, there are some great melodies in vocals chorus section, in the second chorus there is a nice violin added, the drums starts to perform full after that part and there are layers of Yorke vocals performing some nice melodies, in the next part there is another line of clean guitar adds some more melodies over the main arpeggio guitar, the song becomes more full and more powerful. though lately I love the drums to be more huge and more powerful in Kick and snare, but this song was performed great originally and I enjoy listening to it. the song ends with the solo arpeggio guitar and ending vocals.

Songwriters of this song were Colin Charles Greenwood, Jonathan Richard Guy Greenwood, Edward John O'brien, Philip James Selway and Thomas Edward Yorke.

Radiohead Members:
Thom Yorke : lead vocals, electric and acoustic guitars
Jonny Greenwood: electric guitar, synthesizer
Ed O'Brien: electric guitar, backing vocals
Colin Greenwood: Bass guitar
Philip Selway: drums, backing vocals

personally this song reminds me of anxiety and the problems that a human can have inside and it also can be like a zoom out and watching this world from far. This is how I feel when I listen to it. you can also write your opinion in comment section, thanks :)

I hope you enjoyed listening to this song and reading my review,

Regards,

@davidfar

Sort:  

Hi davidfar,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiehive.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you :)

It's a cool song from a great album. I learned to play it ages ago, but have never managed to sing it whilst playing. I have a friend who can do that.

That's awesome :) I also like to post a cover of it in future, I tried it about 1 years ago, complex finger picking and a great practice for fingers or pick :) what I love about it is the melodies of vocals which works well with the arpeggio on guitar and makes a great sound.

I play it with a pick, but possibly could finger pick it as my friend does. It's a personal preference, but I have issues with my right hand that make fingerpicking difficult.

yes my friend, it works in both ways. :) I am also a left hand who is playing with right hand and now if someone give me a left hand guitar I cant play it :D I understand, my problem is more in speed.