Sunday Vinyl - David Bowie - Part Two

in #music3 years ago

David Bowie - Aladdin Sane 1973
Also known as "A Lad Insane", this album is pivotal in Bowie's transition from Ziggy Stardust to The Cracked Actor and the first appearance of the now famous lightning bolt which some folk wrongly attribute to Ziggy Stardust although supposedly it signified the division between the two personas.

David Bowie - Pinups 1973
Not one of my favourite albums if I'm honest "Here comes the night" and especially "Sorrow" are probably the only two I like. By the way, that's Twiggy on the front cover.

In late 1973/4, I bought a similar suit from a charity shop with my saved up pocket money and a bit of haggling; my mum took the trousers up. The local "Short back and sides, sir?" barbers (Hairdressers) gave me a Bowie haircut (YES, I did have hair back then!), and I walked around South East London thinking I looked a million dollars. Happy days

David Bowie - David Live 1974
The album should really be called David Lives because by now he was well on the slippery slope to drug city. Look closely at the album cover, and he's very thin with a gaunt face and protruding cheekbones.

David Bowie - Diamond Dogs 1974
Originally conceived as George Orwell's 1984, Bowie tried to buy the rites to the book from Orwell's widow to create both an album and a stage show. Sadly, Sonia Orwell refused, Bowie got the hump and threw Diamond Dogs together, having already written some of the songs. Personally, it's one of my favourite albums.

David Bowie - Young Americans 1975
David does Soul. Probably one of the most 'easy listening' albums he ever did. Altogether smooth and slick something he got a lot of stick for at the time from his hard rock fans.

David Bowie - Station to Station 1976
The Thin White Duke bursts into your eardrums with yet another iconic song, "Golden Years", hands up all those who remember Heath Ledger prancing around in a knights suite to this in the movie A Knights Tale? By the way. The album picture was taken from his film The Man Who Fell to Earth.


"If you don't have enough voting power or crypto to upvote me; reshare me instead. Reshares are worth their weight in gold!"

My actual name is Pete

Find out Here why I have the username dick_turpin.


Find me on Social Media

https://mastodon.org.uk/@dick_turpin
https://twitter.com/dick_turpin
https://www.facebook.com/peter.cannon3

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.
License explained: Examples
Create your license: Choose

Creative Commons Licence


Podcaster. FOSS, Linux & Creative Commons Advocate.
"Be who you are and say what you feel because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind."
Sort:  

One of my favorite Bowie albums (besides Ziggy) is The Man Who Sold The World.

It's amazing he managed to keep recording and performing through his drug years. Maybe that shortened his life a bit. He always managed to look pretty cool even when wearing weird stuff.

We need some pictures of you in the 70s!

!BEER

There was some great super 8 footage of me at my aunt's wedding sporting a perfect Bowie haircut and a blue suit similar to the one in that picture. Sadly, it's now lost with grandparents and parents passing away.

That's a great loss for the nation. I think my dad got some cine stuff converted. I need to check what he's done with it and other stuff he digitised. He gets excited about the technology, but then neglects to share stuff.

I thought I'd found it a few years ago. My aunt said she had my grandfathers projector in her loft. She sent me the film that was with it, excited I had it converted to MP4 and this was the result!

(Just a collection of black and white clips and films he'd cobbled together.)


Hey @dickturpin, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.