You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My table and a short introduction to Scandinavian jazz

in #music2 years ago

No, it is not just you. As I wrote I was suddenly aware that I might have oversold it. What goes for Viking art and craft these days is actually also pretty far for what the real Viking art was. Hollywood prefers the fin de siecle versions of everything, and doesn't care much for historical authenticity. But the Scandinavian architects and designers from 100 years ago did look very much at the real deal. If you see this Viking bed which was one of the burial presents from the Oseberg ship, I think you can see what I mean.

billede.png

Sort:  

I see. Everything always sounds more grandiose in our heads and also in Hollywood cinema. That is a cool bed though. Simple but with a lot of character. It actually looks like a historic ikea bed haha. Before, when they used real wood instead of only using particle board, of course 😂

That is true. A proto-IKEA bed.