“I'll Never Get Out Of These Blues Alive” covered by Cowboy Junkies … (Blues / Blues Rock – Music to Your Ears, Covers–59)

in #music4 years ago

It’s as sparse and beautiful as John Lee Hooker's original, but maybe a bit moodier.

Cowboy Junkies – “I’ll Never Get Out of These Blues Alive”

“I'll Never Get Out of These Blues Alive” (1986 – original from 1972)

This fine blues cover of the John Lee Hooker song appeared in 1986 on Cowboy Junkies’ debut album, “Whites Off Earth Now!!”  

Slow Blues

The album comprised slow and bluesy covers of tunes by the likes of Hooker, Robert Johnson, Lightnin’ Hopkins, and Bruce Springsteen, as well as one original tune by the Junkies.  

Moodier Blues

Hooker’s solo performance of the original was pure blues. For this track, Cowboy Junkies used a single-mic recording, making this rendition as sparse as the original. Albeit a bit more nuanced and bit moodier.

The following year, the band’s second album brought them international attention and fame. As a result, their debut album was overshadowed and, to a certain extent, ignored. Nevertheless, “I’ll Never Get Out of These Blues Alive”  remains one of the quintessential Cowboy Junkies’ tunes.   (Image source)

Cowboy Junkies

Cowboy Junkies are an alternative country blues band from Toronto, Canada, that was founded in 1985  

Holy Trinity

The band started playing in small clubs in Toronto in 1986, and released their debut album that October.

Their 1987 album “The Trinity Session”  became their breakthrough album. The band started 1987 by playing one of those small clubs in Toronto, and ended it by playing a large concert hall in Tokyo.

Cowboy Junkies have remained active for over 30 years. During that time, they have released 16 studio albums and 5 live albums.   (Image source)

In his book “Songs of the Doomed,”  Hunter S Thompson included Cowboy Junkies on his Honor Roll.

I'll never get out of these blues alive
No, I'll never, I'll never get out of these blues alive
Well, he gone and left me
I don't know what I'll do the rest of my life

Drinking black coffee and smoking cigarettes
Drinking black coffee, yeah, and smoking cigarettes
I can't see no use to try

I'll never get out of these blues alive
No, I'll never, I'll never get out of these blues alive
He gone and left me
Says he'll never come back home

I'll never come out of these blues alive
No, I'll never, I'll never come out of these blues alive
He gone and left me
I don't know what I'll do the rest of my life

Working up a sweat all night long, and jumping over my bed
Sweat all night long, and jumping over my bed
I can't see no use to try

Well, I'll never, never come out of these blues alive
I'll never, never come out of these, out of these blues alive
You know I miss him
To the day I die
  (Image source)

        John Lee Hooker – “Never Get Out of These Blues Alive”    
          (Right-click to hear on YouTube)


Lyrics by John Lee Hooker, courtesy of – AZLyrics.com
Reference – Wikipedia
Reference – Wikipedia
Reference – Wikipedia

Into your ears … through 5 channels

 The various posts are categorized into 5 channels (Right-Click to see details)
         1 – “Music to Your Ears” (MTYE)
         2 – “Cover Versions”
         3 – “Honor Roll”
         4 – “Documentaries”
         5 – “Mock’n’Roll”

More “Cover Versions” ...

         Cover Versions – Music to Your Ears "Posts 1~20"  

         Cover Versions – Music to Your Ears "Posts 21~40"  

Links to my other series ...

          Lou Reed – "Anthology of Memorable Lyrics, Part 1"
          Lou Reed – "Anthology of Memorable Lyrics, Part 2"

          Great Lyrics, a compilation – “Part One – My Lyrics Posts 3~30”
          Great Lyrics, a compilation – “Part Two – My Lyrics Posts 31~60”  

          Vocab-Ability – "Introduction to Vocab-Ability"  
          Vocab-Ability – "Index"  to all Chapters and Sections  

          Notes from Under the Tatami Mats – "Part One – Notes 1~50"  
          Notes from Under the Tatami Mats – "Part Two – Notes 51~87"  
Sort:  

Hi @majes.tytyty

I will tell you in Spanish.

Excelente pieza.

Greetings friend.

Thanks! I don't speak Spanish, but I believe that (when you mention "pieza), you are NOT talking about "pizza." :-)