You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Līgo (Traditional Latvian Folk Song): NEW MUSIC VIDEO, celebration of Summer, Life, Lammas

in #music6 years ago

Wow this was incredible! Loved it! :) Yeah fantasy is awesome. I grew up loving fantasy, movies like Legend, Willow, Robin Hood Prince of Thieves, in my early years, and playing Dungeons and Dragons with my brothers and friends. We even filmed a cheesy D&D Fantasy style feature length film, but we never finished it. Too many visual effects that needed to be done. This was back in 2002 thru 2004 haha. Then I posted the trailer on YouTube in 2010. haha it was a good experience, but wouldn't do it again like we did. We didn't have nearly enough crew, nor money, to do a movie like this. haha here it is if you want to see it.

Sort:  

I have some friends that also made their own attempts at fanmade movies and webseries, not one but two groups of friends, one work now for GoT costumes sometimes. I also grew with the same movies so I guess we're aroudn the same times. My favourites were The Dark Crystal and Labyrinth, those were my icon fantasy movies. I actually know how to play most of those soundtracks, including Legend and others. Yes, visual effects are complex and my computer is old. I've had a few "subtle fantasy with subtle effects" like sometimes less is more, and I think some of them are elegant. I'd recommend "In the mist " at youtube.com/yidneth It's not heigh or epic fantasy but subtle. Yidneth in fact is not my artistic name but the name of my comic I make fantasy illustration as well, and that's my way to "make the movie" my albums became "illustrated projects" that serve the "story". Not this song, this is a traditional folk and actually not my native language :)
I liked the fairy! :) of course :)

Blessings!

hehehe yes! The Dark Crystal and Labyrinth are awesome! I heard somewhere that Labyrinth was being remade, either as a movie or TV series. That would be so cool! haha my computer is very old too, and it gets tough to do complicated effects on it now days. Yidneth is a really cool fantasy name. :) My main fantasy name is Kain Ringthorn. haha

Yes "Yidneth" is now almost my alter-ego but it's really the name of my company and "story", the story is scattered in different formats, in both released albums (also third) in a old graphic novel here and there
Here a drawing I made in the mid nineties for that super super super old works :) hahaha but it grew (both in style and in complexity since)

By the way, it's The Dark Crystal which is getting a prequel series on Netflix :) I happen to be friend of the Frouds because we have coincided in conventions I've performed or as illustrators, they were the original designers of Labyrinth and The Dark Crystal (and Yoda) and they're back in so it's gonna be awesome :).

Wow Priscilla that image looks amazing!! :) I didn't know that about The Dark Crystal. But Labyrinth is definitely getting a new movie too. At least according to this, haha https://movieweb.com/movie/labyrinth-2019/

Both excitement and fear

hahaha yeah, one of my other favorites Big Trouble in Little China is getting a reboot, or something. With Dwayne Johnson. haha I wonder how it will be. I think with the Labyrinth, as long as they don't rely on cool visual effects the whole time, but have a great story, acting, etc. It could be very good!