El Reloj - Pechiche Mena

in #music2 years ago

Hello HIVE !

Today I want to share a song from my first album , the only song I mixed myself as the rest of the album was mixed by Sergio Vivar.

It's very hard to mix a song you composed and arranged yourself as you lose objectivity when it comes to the actual mixing part of things.

I have a bit overcome that issue by mixing as I record and produce , I don't separate both stages anymore in my productions , unless from the start I know someone else will handle the mixing.

Nowadays I will track one instrument , for example drums , and then process them and mix them as how I envision it in the final stage. Add EQ , compression , FX and everything . Then print STEMS in a way that makes sense for the song and commit to that sound before moving to the next instrument.

This way once I get to the actual ''mixing phase'' it's only a matter of correcting and gluing the elements together , not really making any more creative decisions. Very rarely do I have to go back an redo an instrument from scratch this way . I am just not good at dealing with a blank canvas situation when it comes to mix a song , I need it to be already very clear of the direction it was meant to take sonically.

I rarely mix stuff I do not produce so this is a method that works in my particular case.

Back to the song , I am a fan of Loud drums and bass hahahaha , I tend to overmix both sometimes , this song might be one of those cases where I went a bit too far .

What do you think??

Thanks for listening!

Pechiche Mena

Sort:  

I really like the feel of this song.
Unfortunately, I don't understand the language, I think that's a failing on my part for not having learned Spanish a long time ago.

Hey Amber , thank you !

mmmm I think I have a translation , this one was originally recorded for the songwriter's challenge.. lemme look for the link :)