Live from the studio episode #06 - Lúcuma - Stir it Up (cover)

in #music4 years ago (edited)


Lucuma thumb.png
Aimin Etwal & Adolfo Saavedra perform a cover of Bob Marley and the Wailers' song Stir It Up; originally recorded in 1967 and released as a single that year.

being the poet that the late, great Bob Marley was, he wrote Stir it Up as a love song; the metaphor being "stirring up the coals of the fire of love until they blaze".

it's a simple, but lovely song and I wanted to share it with you.

about the session:

The setup for tracking was pretty straight forward so I'm afraid I won't go into much detail.

tracking:

  • 2 Neumann TLM 103 large condenser mics into 2 UA610 tube pres with light compression going in (2-3 db on the peaks)
  • 2 DI for guitar and bass

mixing:

  • sprinkled some reverb on the vocals on an AUX. sent level from each vocal track.
  • lowered Adolfo's voice since he was doing backing vocals
  • 1073 style EQ on the master buss with a smiley face to glue it together a little bit

I hope you have a wonderful Friday!

Sort:  

Great recording, I love it! Is it available somewhere in high(er) res?

hello @flugschwein, very happy You liked it. This is just a recording we did for fun in the studio. If you'd like, send me an email at [email protected] and I will send you a .wav and or 320kbps version for you.

Thanks! I just sent you an email ^^

This is an awesome cover! Be sure to post these in the Reggaejahm community here https://peakd.com/c/hive-183952/created , I just crossposted this to the community I also missed this JAHM!

thank you very much for sharing @dmilliz, I was under the impression that if I used the reggaejahm tag, the community would be able to se it:Screen Shot 20200419 at 7.46.24 AM.png

I guess it's better to actually write the post IN the community or crosspost it, yeah?

And you know that is how it should work, but it doesn't. ( will check to see if that can be implemented)

Right now you have to go into the ReggaeJAHM community on hive and post it.

Yes please, it would be an honor to have you post cool content like this iN the community. Better than crossposting but of course do as you please.

Gonna listen to JAHM one more time.

Love the clarity and balance of the vocals. I'm a live engineer so the craft is well appreciated!

Mixing with a console or software?

I mix with software: Logic Pro X. Don't have the space for an SSL Origin :)

Thanks for sharing your creative and inspirational post on HIVE!



This post got curated by our fellow curator @tibfox and you received a 100% upvote from our non-profit curation service!

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work!