My Journey to Milwaukee to see KMFDM and ohGr

in #music6 years ago

Happy Halloween steemit. For the holiday I got away from the world by attending a concert at a haunted venue. Perfect concert to go with the atmosphere of halloween. I could not be happier for the concert I seen.

A few days ago I took a trek to wisconsin's own Milwaukee. My Midwestern neighbor with 2 hours of driving required to get there. I have not been to a concert a great while so I thought to myself why the hell not. Last time I saw kmfdm I enjoyed the show. They always kick ass at their shows. The destination was a nice little amphitheatre named the Rave. The Rave has quite a spooky past.

The Rave

Opened in 1927 many events and concerts have transpired here. From boxing and wrestling, to buddy holly playing one of his last shows at this concert. Many artists have played here the venue has a very historical and colourful past. But onto the spookiness. The pool area is haunted by a abusive director and kids who drowned in the pool back in the day. People have heard screaming and and felt energy, cold usually near the pool. People have complained about being touched or poked or prodded. On top of the pool area there is a area like a foyer leading to a bunch of seats with little areas that could be described as booths with fully fledged arches. The booths look worn down and they look falling apart now a days but it is kind of beautiful in a way. Well anyways these booths people have seen items being thrown and disappearing and a lot of banging noises and shouting of people.

Foyer with booths

Haunted Pool

I did not get the chance to see the pool but I had to go to go through the foyer area to smoke a cigarette I had to walk all the way to the top floor you see those arches? I was there.

Spooky but classy place

So we got there 30 minutes prior to the show happening. We were all hyped up to see what the first band was all about.
I forgot their names but it was two rappers who came onto the stage. They were ok. A band from germany was supposed to show up to the tour but I guess they brought these guys in for some reason. I didnt really like the band because it was talking about fighting a war against nazis and that everyone in the crowd should join in. About 70 percent of the people left and I was stuck listening to this shitty rap. My friend didnt wanna leave and he hates rap so whatever i stuck through it and I wanted to hear all the bullshit these guys were talking about. They end and there is a relief of silence. I walk around move a bit to check out the place and I come back in about 30 mins or so the next band comes on which is

ohGr


This video is a placeholder till I get my friends recordings and bring em on to here.

I do not know to much about ohGr besides the fact that it is skinny puppies side project. Skinny Puppy was a legendary industrial band so ohGr set the pace to this electronic concert way more than the first band. ohGr sounds like a mixture of mushroomhead, dope with the focus of the music being pop, skinny puppy and rob zombie. I was amazed by the show and I felt completely at home while listening to this music. The people come back in full swing a 30 % full room to people everywhere. I missed 15 minutes of ohGr because I had to go to the bathroom where people were yelling and screaming and fighting. This night was going very interesting for me.

I come back and people are cheering I run into the room and it is KMFDM setting up their instruments. The band comes out for a second and there is a silent pause and they go on stage with a ton of energy to rev up the place.

They start with one of their classic hits

KMFDM - DIY



They continue on to play their new album in its entirety with hits being thrown in once in a while. They usually would play their hits right when they play a slower song or they would play a heavy song right after everything slows down. When they would go into the heavy songs moshing would start and be in sporadic amounts. People were crowd surfing and it was a great show. For some reason I attracted the crazy people to us. I was jamming a little bit and soon there was almost a mini moshpit near us. Whatever crazies make life more interesting right.

Here if you want to listen to the new album by KMFDM here is the link.

KMFDM-HELL-YEAH

This album is pretty kmfdmy as much as the last. They dont change much and I am glad they dont because i think it would not be the same if they did.

I will at a future time upload the videos to dtube and upload it to this post but give me a while because my friend just went to a couple more concerts which I cannot afford to go to at the current time!

Sources

  1. The raves website/2...3...../ Wisconsin hauntings page. 4. The raves website again. 5 ohGr 6. KMFDM

Thank you KMFDM and ohGr for playing and fuck that other rap group. You guys put on an amazing show I hope you could see this little review of your show.

Well happy halloween everyone We only had 3 trick or treaters this year. That's cool I got all the candy. I hope you got a lil bit of candy for yourself. @sinned

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @sinned to be original material and upvoted(2%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

looks like a cool rave