Reflectings Acustico - Todd Underwood // Album Review

in #music4 years ago (edited)

Reflectings Acustico.jpg

So I listen to a lot of new music on a daily basis and every now and then I find something really special. The album ‘Reflectings Acustico’ by Todd Underwood is definitely one of those special findings. If you’re into acoustic music, you must check out this album right now.

If you use Spotify use this link:

If you use Apple use this link: https://music.apple.com/us/album/reflectings-acustico/1489017225

Even though I wouldn’t necessarily consider the music on this album folk music, the only other acoustic album that moved me this much happens to be from British folk artist Ben Howard (who had huge success with his album ‘Every Kingdom’).

I believe that we all know wether we like a song/album/artist within the first few seconds of listening to their music and as soon as the first song of the album started playing I knew I would love this. ‘Back to You’ is a great choice as the first song no the album and this song takes you on a journey that you didn’t even know you desperately needed or wanted to take! The first thing that I noticed when listening to Underwood was his warm, yet powerful voice coupled with a super sweet-sounding acoustic guitar and together those things are a pleasure to listen to. On top of that the song-writing skills are actually also top notch and the quality of the mixing and mastering is world-class. This is something that I notice more and more lately, the quality of the music that I get the opportunity to listen to by many independent artists is incredible! The second song is called ‘I forgot to Worry’ and it starts with a beautiful melody that features a violin as well as acoustic guitar. This song has a very positive message and for some reason I keep thinking of one of my all-time favourite artists Tom Petty when listening to this artist. I can’t quite put my finger on why that is, but it may well be the fact that these songs are just so catchy and easy to sing along to. When you hear a song for the first time and you find yourself singing along the second time the chorus is sung, you know you are listening to something powerful.

The third track is called ‘You Mean Everything to Me’ and this tune is almost giving me some slight country vibes with the string instruments used in this song, which is a nice surprise and a nice little change from the previous 2 songs. The more I listen to this, the more it reminds me of another of one of my all-time favourite bands: Yellowcard. ‘Wishing You the Best’ is another song with a beautiful melody and I don’t know where Underwood learned to write songs like this but those choruses are out of this world. I also really enjoyed listening to the percussion on this track. ‘Raindrop Falling’ is the title of the next song on this amazing album and this tune features a guitar solo at the beginning of the track and once again the versatility of this acoustic album is incredible. The following song actually also includes a really cool solo with a little reverb effect that I really like. That track is called ‘One Lovely Day’ and it reminds me of one of Underwoods many influences: Sting.

The second half of most albums is usually where artists start to half-ass their songs and use filler after filler, however this is definitely not the case with this album. The chorus of ‘Come Home’, the bittersweet violin in ‘Drift Away’, the hopeful dreamy vibe I get when listening to ’The Moment’ are all things worth mentioning. Towards the end this album is still going strong with deep lyrics and melodies that are catchy as hell. The last track of this album is called ‘Reflectings’ and as I listen to this once again all I can say is the only thing that I think of when reflecting back on this album is how versatile, deep and powerful it is. This is a great example of just how deep good song-writing can be with very few instruments. All in all I can only recommend you check out this album right now! I’d also like to point out that I also listened to some other releases by Underwood, for example this one:

and while they are all great, this acoustic album is something super special and like I said at the beginning if you’re into acoustic music you must check this album out! Here are the official links:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/toddunderwoodmusic
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/toddunderwoodmusic
Twitter: https://twitter.com/toddunderwoodm1
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC4AGE06fsTuEwDvcBC_5o0w

Disclaimer: This is a sponsored post, however all opinions are my own. Content of the artist used in this post was used with permission, no copyright was violated.

Sort:  

Ich hab mir deine Aktivität jetzt mal angesehen und habe festgestellt, dass du nur STEEM rausziehst und selbst nicht votest oder irgendwen irgendwie hier unterstützt.

Das finde ich schade. Ich fand Dich auf dem Steemfest recht sympathisch - kann aber aus o.g. Gründen in Zukunft nicht mehr für dich voten.

Gruß !

Hi kein Problem, vielen Dank für deine vorherige Unterstützung und ja, ich sollte zumindest ein paar quration trails folgen, das habe ich in der Vergangenheit mal versucht und es ging ganz gut 👍

Ich denke STEEM kann nur funktionieren, wenn jeder sich 10 Minuten Zeit nimmt für manuelle 'curation'.

Tweet for further promotion:

Congratulations @tanbay! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!