It's Music Monday - Feeling Those Goth Vibes in the Month of October

in #music3 years ago

As soon as autumn approaches and especially when October arrives I always end up feeling a little more goth or at least a sort of goth vibe! The days grow shorter, the nights colder, everything around us starts to transform, die and rest till next spring. Seems like the perfect time to put on some darker music and embrace the change.

Lets start this #MusicMonday with a couple classics from the late 80s early 90s. So much great music came out of that era.

Sisters of Mercy - Temple of Love

Switchblade Symphony - Clown

I really like the way everything sort of morphed into the darkwave scene. EBM and electronic dance music are currently some of my favorite genres. I absolutely love the lyrics to When Is The Future.

VNV Nation - When Is The Future?

Wolfsheim - Approaching Lightspeed

These last three I guess you can call old meeting new. A lot of time bands try to do cover songs and just ruin them. I think the next 3 covers were all done fantastic, but I could be partial because I'm a big fan of these bands too.

Collided - White Rabbit

Type O Negative - Cinnamon Girl

The Awakening - Sound of Silence

I've been listening to a lot of Goth and Darwave the last couple weeks. I have a hard time listening to a single style of music. There is just so much great stuff to be discovered out there. Do you enjoy several different genres of music or do you just listen to one style? Do your musical interests change with the seasons or lean towards any particular style during certain parts of the year?

Sort:  

Looks like some stuff @slobberchops would be into. He's a bit of a goth. Not heard of Darwave, but then there are so many genres out there. I don't know all these bands.

Ah, was it Darkwave? Something like New wave?

Looks like some stuff @slobberchops would be into.

It is.. having a listen!

We're currently at the point where we have sub-genres of every genre now. Darkwave is sort of techno meets goth. I'm sure I just pissed off some darkwave maximalist somewhere with that description 🤣

Yes this fall definitely has a lot of Gothic Victorian feel to it

Absolutely... More so than usual for me.

!BEER


Hey @ganjafarmer, here is a little bit of BEER from @the-bitcoin-dood for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

I had to wiki Switchblade Symphony as I had never heard of them. They are from the US and that's probably why.. during the 90's this was not my kind of music.. it's only in the last few years I started appreciating it.

Speaking of covers.. I prefer The Mission (UK)'s version of the Aerosmith classic 'Dream On'. Again.. Aerosmith were never the force in the UK that they were in the US. As a consequence I heard the Mission version first.

Nice track, thanks for sharing! I think that's the first I've heard of that band. So much music to discover out there, I love it!

I prefer a lot of the stuff that came out of the late 80s and early 90s in this genre. I was more of a heavy metal / punk rock kid around that time but worked in a goth nightclub so a lot of that music really grew on me.

I'm surprised you have not heard of the Mission. They were formed from fragments of The Sisters of Mercy when the band dissolved after their debut album. You will hear similarities in the music. They were the most successful goth band of the times (UK), (late 80's - early 90's), and had a string of singles and albums.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Mission_(band)

Your post has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Dear reader, follow and support this author, Install Android: https://android.ecency.com, iOS: https://ios.ecency.com mobile app or desktop app for Windows, Mac, Linux: https://desktop.ecency.com
Learn more: https://ecency.com
Join our discord: https://discord.me/ecency

Thanks for the encouragement! Much appreciated!

Logo-comments2.pngYour post was reblogged by us and received a (still) small vote from the Music community on Hive.

Do you want to get involved? Do you want to support music and this project? Follow us to keep you updated and read our Introduction post!