Top Selling Albums of 1980's - Spot #87

in #music3 years ago

Despite the fact that I loved the 70’s music especially the rock I am glad to see (hear) we are now getting to true 80’s bands…. and 80’s sounds. This band only formed in 1981 and their first album Kissing to be Clever was so non-conformist for the sound at that time that the band was labeled as ‘a flash in the pan’.

All you clever people now know I am talking about Culture Club. Boy George, the media darling for whom the phrase ‘gender bender’ proved to be a considerable talent as a vocalist and songwriter. The album Color by Numbers slots in at position #87 with sales of 4.9 million


Victims
I chose this number to start as I believe it highlights Boy George’s vocals and song writing talents. Of course we all know the #1 US and UK hit from the album… so let’s spin it …

Karma Chameleon

I confess that all his makeup spins me out . I am sorry but in this video one could be forgiven for thinking we were watching an episode of “Heidi”

Culture Club were a fixture on MTV throughout the year (Thank you George) ensuring the album stayed in the public eye and on the charts.
The 3rd hit from the album was I’ll stumble 4 you but we will listen to a track that for some reason was released as a single in……. {trumpet blast} South Africa. Eishhhh, that is weird as we had full on political sanctions at the time due to Apartheid policies.


Mister Man
Listening to the lyrics it could well have been political.

All in all I appreciate the band …in small doses. We have heard and I am sure we are going to come across other ‘not so great… by my taste sounds’ . Leave your thoughts below… all two of you

As always, thanks for stopping by and your support is fully appreciated

Footnote: This project was inspired by the publication “The 100 Best Selling Albums of the 80’s” authored jointly by Peter Dodds, Justin Crawthorne, Chris Barret and Dan Auty and published by Amber Books (ISBN: 1-904867-12-1).This and other great music inspired books can be found on their website www.amberbooks.co.uk

Concept Post
#100)
#99
#98
#97
#96
#95
#94
#93
#92
#91
#90
#89

Sort:  

Am number 2, I think, or? :)

Culture Club... Boy George. A phenomenon I'll never forget. What I did forget, is to listen to the music last so many decades. But much respect for this guy! And what he did with Culture Club. That said, after his major hitsin the 80s, I lost sight of him and Culture Club. Until the moment "Ministry of Sound" (a 'house' club in London) released a CD created and produced by Boy George back in the 90s. And then a left my mind again :)

BTW, are you posting in the Music community, or using the Music community tag as a third tag? Can't really tell in my hive.blog UI.

EDIT: just checked, you are not posting in the Music community :) I think it has no point in using the tag though, hardly anybody going through the chain by community tags :)

That first song is another one that got played quite a bit around here XD

I probably know the second one as well but I'm a bit scared to press play on anything at the moment, the internet is still a bit on the flakey side (my kids ran it out a while ago so we're waiting for rollover in a few days).

Congratulations @themagus! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 18000 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 19000

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP