Top Selling Albums of 1980's - Spot 98

in #music3 years ago

Moving right along …. I trust you are enjoying the music journey so far. Positions 100 and 99 both indicated that Rock and the 70’s rock bands were still a driving force on the air waves and in the music communities.
Spot #98 is no different. AC/DC and the album For Those About to Rock also snuck in with just over 4.1 million sales.
IMAGE
With the death of lead singer Bon Scott in early 1980 the critics thought that may be the end of AC/DC, but undeterred they recruited a new vocalist in Brian Johnson. For Those About to Rock was the second album for the new lineup.


For Those About to Rock
I don’t know …. For me Johnsons vocals are really not up to scratch. He sounds like a mix between the Gibbs brothers of Bee Gees fame and Bon Jovi. To my mind he adds very little value.
The first album featuring Johnson on vocals was Back in Black which rates higher in the sales. It appears that the demise of Bon Scott had a bigger impact on the band than initially thought as this album was the last of their big successes, and commercially they continued to experience diminishing returns.

Let’s Get It Up

My wife’s favorite band I confess their brand of music leaves me ice cold. If she reads this I will be sleeping on the couch. Share your thoughts in the comments below

Footnote: This project was inspired by the publication “The 100 Best Selling Albums of the 80’s” authored jointly by Peter Dodds, Justin Crawthorne, Chris Barret and Dan Auty and published by Amber Books (ISBN: 1-904867-12-1).This and other great music inspired books can be found on their website www.amberbooks.co.uk

Concept Post #100 #99

Sort:  

For me Johnsons vocals are really not up to scratch. He sounds like a mix between the Gibbs brothers of Bee Gees fame and Bon Jovi. To my mind he adds very little value.

HaHaHa... I would like to see a reaction from mister Johnson on this one

My wife’s favorite band I confess their brand of music leaves me ice cold. If she reads this I will be sleeping on the couch.

Did she read? And what was the sleeping arrangement when she did?

You made me LOL with this post; Such a bummer for AC/DC!

ps I would still try to use a community + the music tag of course... Your posts shall get a bit more attention... I would try https://peakd.com/c/hive-193816/created ... maybe you also want to check out other music related communities https://hive.blog/communities (just search for 'music' / default ranking is based on amount of expected post payout next 7 days)

Thanks, I will check those out.

Nah, she did not read .... so all still good here.

🤣🤣🤣

I used to like ACDC once. Then my last kung fu school overplayed it (literally every class the head guy was present and generally the same rotation of songs every class because he'd heard one of the higher level guys mention that it was good music to train to and taken that as gospel, we played pretty much anything else when he wasn't there) and now I don't like it so much XD

Yup, people do that to good tunes sometimes by over playing them. Like eating your fave fruit for breakfast lunch and dinner.... starts to pale after a while!!