Album of the day "Suck on this" by Primus. When I found out that it was possible to play bass the way Les Claypool does 😎

For this new edition of "Album of the day" I bring one of the albums that marked my life when I heard it for the first time when I was 13 years old.

The album "Suck on this" by the band Primus.

Primus - Suck on this - Sleeve 01

"Suck on this" is the first official album of this Alternative Metal band Primus and it was released in 1989. In their music the bass has a great weight since its director, Les Claypool is the bassist, singer and composer of the majority of their songs. At that time the rest of the band were guitarist Larry LaLonde and drummer Tim Alexander. The funny thing is that it is an album made with songs recorded in a live concert in the same location and on two different days.

Primus - Suck on this - Sleeve 02

Although it is a live recording, this album sounds incredibly well and also demonstrated the genius of the musicians who had only been playing together for 2 months. Legend has it that this was one of the albums that paved the way for what would become the so-called Grunge or Alternative Rock.

Les Claypool has gone down in Rock history as one of the most prolific and great bassists without a doubt.

Primus - Suck on this - Inner Sleeve 01

Another interesting detail about this album is that it was a self-produced thing by the band. Even Les Claypool had to ask his father for $ 3,000 to produce the first thousand copies of the vinyl record.

Primus - Suck on this - Inner Sleeve 02

My version of this album is a re-release in the year 2021 for the USA and Canada. The color of the vinyl record is cobalt blue, a color that I like a lot and that goes perfectly with the sleeve of the album.

I am very happy to have this album in my collectio

Primus - Suck on this - Record

And to finish I leave a video of a Primus concert in Germany so that those who do not know this band can enjoy their music.

Greetings!

Sort:  

PIZZA!
@juanmiguelsalas! The Hive.Pizza team manually curated this post.
PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:

Join us in Discord!

Awesome you put the Lorely concert here. I especially like the My name is mud version of this concert.
Les and his magic "walk".
'Yes Sir we suck'!