My California - The Road to Pine Flat

Hey everyone! This is my entry into @socalsteemit's new "Show Us Your CA Contest"

Greetings everyone! This weeks entry into the My California contest is a local fire road that drives up to a local peak. This is the road I often take when testing out any modifications or rebuilds I have done on vehicles. Its a fairly steep road which can be freshly graded and easily passable or completely washed out. Its always a toss up what you will find when you drive up this road but its the closest outlet I have to the San Bernardino Mountains.

The dirt road begins at the very top of Palm Ave. off the 215 freeway in San Bernardino. It then turns into fire road 2N49 that heads up Bailey Canyon. This road is designated on road use vehicles only and no green sticker vehicles. Depending on how the road conditions are is often where @beckymeep and I would end up parking and letting the pups out.

Sometimes I would find other vehicles similar to mine and chat it up with new people

As the road heads up there are several offshoots that dont really go anywhere but are challenging to even the most built offroad vehicles.

About half way up is another chill spot at the bottom of one of these offshoots. This spot is often a meetup location if Im wheeling with other vehicles and we get separated during the trip.

I have almost rolled my truck so many times on this small hill its not even funny. To get to the top of that little hill is to pass over very large woops up a steep grade. Its still a fun hill to climb either way.

Further up the mountain on the back side, the sun does not hit the road as much and snow can build up on the road making it difficult to navigate.


523408609186.jpg

I often hit this road right after snow storms to have fun in the snow.


Near the top, the snow makes the landscape look like a winter wonderland in Southern California.

Not only have I navigated the road in snow at night, I have also pulled out trucks that were two wheel drive and should not have been up there.


I have also came across several things while traveling near the peak. On one of the snow trips I came across a fully built snow man.

On another trip I found a memorial that was off the beaten path. How it was cast with no walkway to it, surprised me.

One thing you will always see in these mountains are deer. Lots of deer, but they might be hiding in plain sight.

The view from the peak is spectacular though, especially on a clear day.


I hope you enjoyed this edition of "My California" and if your interested and in the neighborhood, show @socalsteemit YOUR California!

All photos, unless otherwise stated or sourced, were taken by @csusbgeochem1 and may not be reused without permission. Animations and cover photo created by @csusbgeochem1 using GIMP.

If you found this story interesting you can find more like it by following @socalsteemit and help us expand the Steemit community together

Join the SoCal Steemit Discord group today!

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=csusbgeochem1
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=my-california-the-road-to-pine-flat


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Looks fun bro, been a few years since I been to pine flat area. be well

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you, You as well!

Thank you for participating in this weeks 'Show us Your California' contest!
SCSreplybanner.jpg

Hiya, @livinguktaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in today's Travel Digest #357.

Please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting the Travel Digest if you like what we're doing.

Thank You So Much!