Hive goals for 2021

in #myhivegoals3 years ago

This post is more of a just-for-me type of thing. It's the obligatory year end look back and look ahead.

There have been some "my goals for hive" posts recently, unfortunately I cannot find them right now. But, the gist of them relies on this premise:

If you set goals for yourself, you're more likely to achieve them.

Even if you fall short, you're more likely to go farther as compared to having no goals at all.

Also, I've often heard and read that having goals is great, but having goals actually written down is golden. I believe that if you asked most people, they'd honestly say, "I have goals." However, I believe few could show a written or typed goal. They might say something like the goal this year is, "To do better, to be better." That's fine, but, written goals yield "better" results than ethereal goals.

So, onto my Hive goals for 2021!

I consulted https://peakd.com/me/dashboard, https://hivebuzz.me/@crrdlx, and https://hivestats.io/@crrdlx (you can just replace my Hive handle with yours to find out your stats). An oddity: some stats (like posts) from the three sites are not always the same. I'm not sure why. I just listed them in the respective order above.

Goal #NameCurrent% increase goalBy end of 2021On pace?Achieved?Note
1Reputation58.4484%60.79This seems hard to increase. Slow and steady, I guess.
2Average author rewards0.535%0.56
3Average upvotes/post55%5.25
4Posts455 or 64220%546 or 770HiveBuzz & HiveStats
5Comments64220%770I think this is posts + comments.
6HP (was 79 Jan 1)371.63410%408.797
7Author rewards241 HP10%265.1
8Followers3075%322Seems hard to get new followers. Brick by brick.
Notes

Initially, I did not include the "Average author rewards" or "Average upvotes/post" as a goals. But, if I'm going for quality, I suppose those are strong measures to watch. Thus, I made them goals 2 and 3.


A few miscellaneous items
And my unmeasurable, overarching goals:
  1. Strive toward quality. You can't put a number on quality, but you know it when you see it.
  2. Engage more.
  3. Be exceedingly kind on the platform. There are only excuses to not do so.

Frankly, I feel that the geeky numbers will simply fall into place by simply following these two overarching principles.


Not on Hive? The #1 benefit of Hive...YOU own your content and YOU earn the rewards your that content generates. Learn more or consider using my referral link to get your free account here.

:)