Empire Lake Trails, Oregon

foggylakes.jpg

In the early morning, last spring, I snapped this photo. I was living outside, no tent, no car, owning only the clothes on my back and my guitar. I had walked all night to stay warm and the murky light breaking through the fog was the first sign of the warmth that would cradle my existence for the rest of the day. I was tired, but could not help but appreciate the nature of my own small existence.

These lakes lay placidly in between North Bend and Empire, Oregon. It was so quiet and still. Even the birds were silent. The air was still, thickening as the sun began to warm the ecosystem around me. This was another one of those moments when it didn't matter what I'd lost. It didn't matter how many cold and sleepless nights that I had pressed through. It did not matter if I had seen the bad side of human nature and the rejection of society. None of this mattered.

What I found there, as I had found before, is this reminder: all the ugliness of the world is a facade. To be downtrodden in the midst of such beauty, is the only thing that can limit us from receiving all the blessings of the infinite universe.

How could I be so unappreciative to complain? As I feel the air, softly, meandering across the billions of nerve endings in my skin, how could I give dissent? I saw a vision of myself, ascending from the ashes of a broken life. I am a work in progress, but I am grateful for the journey. After all, cliche's aside, that is what life is.

-Article and photo by Jonathan Caleb Williams

Sort:  

This is one of the best gratitude posts I have seen...You have a way with words, which comes from within, through experience, and deep thought...A very nice piece here mate, and the photo? Every bit as good.

Wow. Thank you. That is a powerful and very appreciated compliment. Thank you, galenkp. :D

You're welcome.

I cam across you as one of your posts was resteemed...I'm pleased as I'm always looking for great users to support, and to engage with. You seem to fit that criteria and so I followed you and came across this post.

Thanks for sharing. Keep up the great work.

I am glad you found this guy!

He seems legit. I found him from a resteem you made. I don't resteem much at all, but when I do I mean it and do so for good reason...Reasons like this guy. I hope he pushes on. I like him.

@riverflows thanks for recommending this post! You definitely know what I am looking for in the world... <3

You are welcome! Xxx

Congratulations @badseedalchemist! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Oh be still, my beating heart!! What a moving post, thank you for sharing your heartsong with us here on steem!
I could literally sit here and write you multiple paragraphs about all the feelings invoked, the inspiration found, the relations with memories of my own experiences...
you nailed it.
I look forward to reading more from you.

Thank you for a reminder to stop and see the beauty when things get rough. It's moments like this which put things into perspective and remind you what's important and what's just superficial.

Thank you for commenting. I'm grateful to have such welcoming appreciation from people like you on steem! Super excited to do more. Around wednesday or thursday I'm going to hopefully interview a man named Jim who lives in Gold Beach Oregon and runs an antique shop with a mission to help the unfortunate. I hope you give it a read and enjoy! Thanks again!

Sounds good. I've put you on my follow list and hope I catch it.

Right on, thank you for the follow. I believe the next thing that I am going to right is about a haunted hotel, here in Coos Bay, Oregon. It's construction began in 1925 so it's nearly a hundred years old. Now, it has been become an apartment building and the funny thing is, I actually used to live there! So I snapped a photo of it while I was driving past it earlier today and I'm gonna write something small about it. If you decide to read it, then I hope you enjoy it as well. Have a wonderful day!

Really nice Photos thx for Posting Bro

Thank you. Are you new to steem? I was just noticing your 25 rep and thinking "STAY!! It is so worth it!"

Beautiful!

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm glad you like it! I see that your rep is only 25 which means that you might be new! IF you are then stick around! Steemit is great :)

You’ve been visited by @porters on behalf of Natural Medicine. That is a wondrous morning to awaken too! Lovely that it can make that change in you and uplift you from the downtrodden to one so appreciative of life! thanks for sharing!
Did you know that Natural Medicine now has it's own token, rewarding natural healing and health wisdoms? You can check out our front end, naturalmedicine.io If you've been involved in our community over the last year, check your wallets for LOTUS and stake them to start earning curation rewards!
FYI: Natural Medicine & Inner Blocks are having a Collaborative Challenge - Medicine Blocks Challenge! Win Lotus Tokens & up to 150 Steem! Check out the details by clicking here

Discord Delegate Here

Thank you for introducing me to this! Your front end is SO VERY cool. I didn't know that steem powered so many unique projects! My eyes are opened. Even more excitement. 🤩