Four seasons on the garden in April

In the last week, the spring flowers have fully bloomed. Narcissus, Tulips, Hyacinths and many others took off at the first warm rays of spring.

IMG_20210402_170651_1.jpg

IMG_20210402_170535.jpg

IMG_20210402_170821.jpg

IMG_20210402_170847.jpg

IMG_20210310_125026.jpg

IMG_20210402_170641_1.jpg

IMG_20210402_170521.jpg

The meadow was covered with dozens of golden dandelion flowers, which soon turned into bulbs. I picked some flowers for tea and “honey”.

IMG_20210405_153305_1-2.jpg

"Dandelion honey" is made of flowers: remove the flowers from the green part and load them into a jar, a layer of sugar and a layer of flowers until you fill the jar. Leave the jar in a sunny place for a month, then strain if desired.

I also found young nettles. I like to prepare it as spinach or in soup.

IMG_20210405_145839_1.jpg

Nettle tea is cleansing and can be drunk all year round. I will also soon prepare nettle tincture, when I gather more of it.

IMG_20210405_145751_1.jpg

Yesterday, however, we were "surprised" by the snow. Thousands of blooming flowers got covered by a thick layer of snow.

IMG_20210406_075347.jpg

The temperature dropped to -10⁰C. I feel sad for the trees that already started blooming. Apparently the earth needs a little more napping.

IMG_20210406_193439_1.jpg

Luckily, only winter vegetables is planted in my outdoor garden; onions, garlic, winter lettuce, leeks, beetroot, peas and perennials, which are resistant to cold. I only covered them with a garden blanket.

I arranged indoor gardens in two rooms. Currently, my biggest problem, as every year, is the lack of space.
I’m also slowly running out of planting pots, so I’m planting the plants in just anything that looks like a pot.

IMG_20210406_093822_1.jpg

In the last two weeks I replanted lots of tomatoes. This year I will be growing five different types of tomatoes:

  • Oxheart tomato, which is my favorite variety of tomato, really tasty, useful in salads as well as in sauces.
  • Yellow tomato, which is the richest in nutritions.
  • A type of tomato that grows in bunches, which offers a great harvest.
  • Cherry tomato, which is excellent is really weather and drought resistant.
  • Marmande, which tastes kind of sweet and also yields a great crop.
  • A special type of black tomato that I am growing for the first time this year.

IMG_20210311_153721_1.jpg

IMG_20210407_074909_1.jpg

IMG_20210407_074734_1.jpg

Last month I planted several varieties of paprikas, pepperonis and chillies:

  • Kurt's Gate, a type of red paprika having large fruits, with a pointed tip. It is very useful for barbecue, sauces, salads or as a spice. I plant many of them as I use it to make Ajvar or I can preserve it in different ways, for example traditional grilled peppers in garlic, parsley and oil.
  • The Elephant's Ears, is a type of paprika with a large sweet tasting fruit with colors that usually blend from yellow to orange and red. I love to use it for making filled paprika, as this type is kind of nice for cooking. I also make lots of pickled paprika out of it.
  • Bell peppers, I love them most fresh in salads.
  • A type of mini paprikas, that I grow every year, but I don't know its name. A huge number of fruits appear on one plant, but they do not grow more than 15 centimeters. The fruits are yellow in color and have a sharp taste. I love to use them in stir fry dishes and in adding it to the salads as well.
  • I grow two types of pepperonis, but I don't know its name. One type grows large fruits and they are less sharp, the other grows smaller fruits and they get sharper. I love to pickle them or use them in sandwiches, pizza and other dishes.
  • I grow a few types of chillies, Tabasco types, Cayenne, Jalapenos and this year for the first time Chocolate Habanero as well.

IMG_20210307_074552.jpg

IMG_20210311_153645_1.jpg

IMG_20210406_093657_1.jpg

IMG_20210406_093803.jpg

Plants like tomatoes and paprika are not resistant to cold as they come from a warm climate. I will be able to replant them to the outside garden when I will be sure that the temperature won't drop under 0⁰C anymore, that would be for me in the middle of May. At that time I will be as well planting most of the vegetables, herbs and flowers in my garden.

I planted a lot of plants of the Brassica family:

  • Varaždin cabbage,
  • Ljubljana cabbage,
  • red cabbage Paleta,
  • kale,
  • cauliflower,
  • broccoli and this year for the first time broccoli Romanesco.

IMG_20210406_093443.jpg

Plants from the brassica family are more resistant to cold, young seedlings are safely transplanted to the outdoor garden when temperatures rise above 5⁰C. Because I was following the weather forecast, I moved the plants to safety before the temperature dropped and the snow came to visit again.

I will plant most of the herbs in the ground when the weather warms up, but I have already planted some herbs in pots:

  • parsley,
  • celery,
  • marjoram,
  • oregano,
  • basil,
  • chamomile,
  • wormwood.

IMG_20210311_153554.jpg

IMG_20210406_150849.jpg

I also planted some flowers in pots that I will replant in the garden when it warms up:

  • Zinnias,
  • Marvel-of-Peru,
  • Cosmos flowers.

IMG_20210317_175247.jpg

Sort:  

That's a lot of plants and flowers..and they all look lovely! 🤍

Many of them will get "adopted" by friends and neighbors.
Thank you for stopping by 💚

Congratulations @blackberryskunk! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 20000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 25000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the April 1st Hive Power Up Day

This is heaven for me to imagine. You have everything you need right there. It was always a dream of mine to live like this growing my own food and have a snow covered dog haha. We have no flowers or leaves yet but there could be a snowfall here again as well.

All the best to you and your crops!

It's truly a blessing and I thank the universe for it every day 💚
Kimba really loves snow, at least somebody was happy for it 😃
All best to you too!

Wow, you have been busy! That's awesome. I love the flower shots; those daffodils look like little personalities turning to the light. Thanks for the update. :)

Daffodils really capture the energy of the sun and shine like lights 😊
I will get more busy with the gardening when the temperature rises, there will be more updates coming 😉

Epic seedling work! Looking at your varieties selection (esp. the peppers), I suspect you're in a Slavic country... Greetings from Bulgaria ;)

You suspected right! ;) Greetings back from Slovenia.

I start everything inside also and it's always a race to get things out to the cold frame before the next seed starting, as there's just no more room!

Haha, we all face the same problems.
I really have a wish to make a winter garden in the future...

Gosh, your garden is absolutely fantastic! I imagine my dishes with your veggie, then add some beautiful flowers in the dining table :)



For the information, the communities we're curating right now please check OCD Communities Incubation Program - Update #22. You are welcome to cross-post your posts from that community onto OCD with the peakd.com feature to get more visibility and engagement from the OCD subscribers.


Congrats for being OCD Nomination of The Day in this post: OCD Daily: Issue #734

image.png

Thank you @anggreklestari!
My veggies and flowers would look the most beautiful with your plating! I really wish that one day I get to work with a talented chef as you are.

Oh my goodness - sorry it took so long to get to this one! Gorgeous pics. You remind me very much of me - more is more, right? Look at all those plants - both herbs and veggies I love to see! And poor doggie doesn't look too impressed there. I grew those little orange capsicum this year, they are still coming in the greenhouse and I'll be definitley planting them again! Very cute splashes of colour too! Great post - love that last photo a lot!

Thank you! 💚
Many of the vegetable plants will get "adopted" by friends that doesn't have space for starting the plants. But there is still much that will stay with me, as I will need a lot of vegetables for preserving them.
It's interesting as well to plant loads of plants at the same time, to notice different mutations and differences in genetics. I always choose the best looking plant with the nicest fruit, to pick out the seeds for the next year.

I've been seed saving more than ever this year! Especially the heirloom varieties - the seeds are expensive to buy at first, but then you should, in theory, have an unlimited supply!

It's definitely less expensive over the years, buying F1 seeds is a huge expense every year for gardeners and there's a huge market behind it.

Wooow so beautiful @blackberryskunk ! I am dazzled by the Abundance!
And for the snow & freeze, I feel you! We had started so many amazing sprouts and got plants, but the weather caught us a bit offguard regarding the inside space now 😅
But let's just bet that Nature has its reasons and we will have amusing surprises 🌿
Much Love!

Im sure of that! Thank you @kaliphae! 💚

I'm sure of that! Thank you @kaliphae! 💚