ALMOST VEGAN BREAKFAST๐ŸŒ๐ŸŒ๐ŸŒ

in #naturalmedicine โ€ข 4 years ago

img_0.19151955676019117.jpg

FOOD IS A JOURNEY

I know. Almost doesn't count as a vegan breakfast. I'm eating boiled bananas and coffee and thought about memories of the way life was in the province back in the day.

This was the best breakfast I've had in a while, which is saying something. It's an inspiringly simple food packed with vitamins and minerals. In stark contrast to my favorite fried rice toppings, it isn't oily, salty nor does it have artificial flavors. And, I'm guessing that it isn't GMO - crossing my fingers on this, but hey, I believe in miracles. lol

NUTRITION & HEALTH
According to the Medical News Today website, a medium sized banana contains 422 milligrams of potassium, which is a big chunk of an adult's potassium needs, and 10% fiber needs for a day. I ate five medium sized bananas so I'm happy with the nutritional aspect.

From the same article, it says that a medium banana may:

  • help manage blood sugar
  • help prevent wheezing in children with asthma
  • help prevent leukemia cells from growing
  • help lower the risk of cardiovascular disease
  • help lower blood sugar levels
  • help preserve memory and boost a person's ability to learn
  • good for digestive health

A lot of good things in such a humble fruit. Makes me wonder if I'm eating wrong? Maybe I need to change the way I approach breakfast and just ditch the rice toppings and move it to lunch?

Anyways, the banana breakfast was fantastic. It was the milk in my coffee that veered my meal from vegan to vegetarian. A small but not inconsequential distinction. Ask the #vegans if you must.

img_0.7947760817734962.jpg

PERSONALLY
I'm still stuck in that limbo of 'transitioning' for a long time now and I don't know if I will cross the vegan line completely, and when. Being vegetarian has been a blessing and veganism seems very near, yet far away - like a comet passing by in the night sky.

I am aware of the veganism's benefits to one's health, impact on the environment, food security, and animal cruelty, but, it also involves big changes in a person's life. And that is where I struggle the most. Knowing something and doing it can be a daunting task, especially if it involes other people. So my goal is to do it slowly but surely; one day at a time.

As in most things in life, the decisions we make will make an impact in the here and now and in the future. I will end with a quote from Stephen Covey:

"I am not a product of my circumstances. I am a product of my decisions."

Mabuhay and keep safe everyone!

@juanvegetarian


*all photos are mine

Sort: ย 

Juan! Go to @ecotrain's newest post and join the vegan "challenge" :D

Thanks for the info @cwow2. ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘

You are welcome!

Have a nice and peaceful day ahead. ๐Ÿ˜Š

You too friend :D

Congratulations @juanvegetarian! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 6000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 7000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz supports the Austrian Community Meetup
Project Activity Update

Thanks mucho, @hivebuzz! Have a buzzingly busy day. :)

Hahaha thanks @juanvegetarian! You too!

Curated for #naturalmedicine by @riverflow.
I am mostly vegan, but I do enjoy cheese every now and then - I dont think it matters, as long as you are being mindful and conscious.

We encourage content about health & wellness - body, mind, soul and earth. We are an inclusive community with two basic rules: Proof of Heart (kindness prevails) & Proof of Brain (original content). Read more here.

Our website also rewards with its own Lotus token & we'd love you to join our community in Discord. Delegate to @naturalmedicine & be supported with upvotes, reblog, tips, writing inspiration challenges for a chance to win HIVE and more. Click here to join the #naturalmedicine curation trail!

We also encourage you to follow our sister accounts, @lotusshares and @uplotus. We're also partnered with another amazing healing group, @adiwathrive - follow for dual language curation (English and Spanish), spiritual, musical and heart centred wellness!

ย 4 years agoย (edited)ย 

Same here with me about enjoying cheese @riverflow. ๐Ÿง€๐Ÿง€๐Ÿง€ Thanks for dropping by and the words of encouragement.

It's a shame we have plenty of available bananas around but don't consume as much. My daughter and I enjoy eating boiled or fried bananas throughout different meals. You inspire me to head out to the nearby makeshift stall to buy for this week's stock. This is a great breakfast. Enjoy your weekend

Second day doing the boiled banana breakfast and I feel great. It's always available in the Philippines and very affordable. I'm planning to do a twice daily dose of Saging na Saba, via fried bananas for afternoon snacks. My bayaw's wife did this boiled bananas meal where she ate only boiled bananas for a few days. It worked wonders for her health condition (not medical advice!!! ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜). It was short of a miracle. ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘

I used to eat Saging na Saba as a replacement for white rice and it works. It is filling and nutritious. I am curious to know the positive changes with the twice a day dose. Hope you could share it with us in the future.๐Ÿ˜Š

I will. Just hoping my favorite vendor can bring it regulary. She's a small woman who brings fruits and veggies around the area. ๐Ÿ˜

It's always nice to have a suki ,a favorite vendor. ๐Ÿ˜

Yes, it is @discoveringarni. My suki came today, but no bananas! Haha.. she will bring some on Wednesday. ๐Ÿ˜Š